My Favorite cakes from Vintage Cakes

I have chosen a favorite cake from each section of the book, totaling 6 favorite cakes. This is probably the hardest decision I have thus made regarding cakes, but the hardest was choosing only ONE to make for my birthday (January 2nd). But I ended up choosing the Double Dip Caramel cake. 🙂

Hasty Cakes:

My husband liked this section because there were quite a few chocolate cakes. But I think my favorite of these would be something besides chocolate. It’s a toss up but I decided on Lazy Daisy Oatmeal Cake:

#26 Lazy Daisy Oatmeal cake

#26 Lazy Daisy Oatmeal cake

It doesn’t look all that exciting, but it was so delicious, I could eat it for breakfast every day.

Everyday Cakes:

My favorite was definitely the Blackberry Chocolate Cream Icebox Cake:

#29 Blackberry Chocolate Cream Icebox cake

#29 Blackberry Chocolate Cream Icebox cake

Fun and surprisingly easy to make and so incredibly delicious to eat.

Little Cakes and Light Cakes:

This one is also a toss-up between the Boston Cream Pie-lets and Mississippi Mud Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting, but the Mississippi Mud wins. 🙂

#15 Mississippi Mud Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

#15 Mississippi Mud Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

Flips and Rolls:

This is one of the harder ones. I think I loved every single cake in this section. But I will choose Butterscotch Cream Roll-Up, my very first cake from this book. It definitely set me on a positive track. 🙂

#1 Butterscotch Cream Roll-up

#1 Butterscotch Cream Roll-up

Layer Cakes:

There a ton of cakes in this section and every single one of them is good. All of the classic recipes were amazing but I decided to choose one of the more unique cakes; Lovelight Chocolate Chiffon Cake with Chocolate Whipped Cream:

#27 Lovelight Chiffon Cake with Chocolate Whipped Cream

#27 Lovelight Chiffon Cake with Chocolate Whipped Cream

Party Cakes:

All of these (again) were fantastic, but I think this cake was designed for my taste buds: Double Dip Caramel Cake:

#39 Double-Dip Caramel Cake

#39 Double-Dip Caramel Cake

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post