#29 Blackberry Chocolate Cream Icebox Cake

Icebox cakes are made from crunchy cookies and whipped cream and as they chill in the fridge the cookies absorb the cream a little, giving them a more cake-like consistency. The result is something a bit like tiramisu, but with different flavors. This cake was very easy to make, but I had an appointment to make and near the end I was running out of time (it was time consuming despite the ease).

This was the LEAST cake-like cake I’ve made, but it was delicious and I will certainly be making it again.

The recipe says that you can buy vanilla wafers from the store as a short cut, and I was tempted. But I thought I better make it all from scratch and follow it to the T if I am going to do this book. I am happy with my decision because not only do I feel better about myself but I now have a delicious vanilla wafer cookie recipe that I could whip up if need be.

I DID take all the pictures but some disappeared because I didn’t realize I was taking pictures without a memory card. 😦

The ingredients for the cookies were butter, brown sugar, flour, whole milk, and salt. That is all. This is before the milk was added.

The ingredients for the cookies were butter, brown sugar, flour, whole milk, and salt. That is all. This is before the milk was added.

After the milk was added and starting to ball up nicely

After the milk was added and starting to ball up nicely

On the floured surface

On the floured surface

Rolled into a log

Rolled into a log

Chilled log that’s been sliced up a bit

Chilled log that’s been sliced up a bit

Cookie slices

Cookie slices

Baked! Perfect wafers

Baked! Perfect wafers

The ingredients for this part was blackberries, cocoa powder, sugar, whipping cream, and vanilla extract. This is just the cocoa Powder.

The ingredients for this part was blackberries, cocoa powder, sugar, whipping cream, and vanilla extract. This is just the cocoa Powder.

Mixed with some sugar

Mixed with some sugar

Whipped up after the heavy whipping cream was added

Whipped up after the heavy whipping cream was added

With blackberry purée and a little vanilla. Delish!

With blackberry purée and a little vanilla. Delish!

A dollop of whipping cream on each of 7 wafer cookies, then stacked!

A dollop of whipping cream on each of 7 wafer cookies, then stacked!

 

Looks like these are some of the missing photos unfortunately. I made 4 stacks of 7 wafers each and then laid them all side by side on my rectangular platter (below). Then the leftover whipped cream went over the whole rectangle. 🙂

Tooth-picked so I could saran wrap cover it

Tooth-picked so I could saran wrap cover it

After chilling in the fridge for over 12 hours and with some fresh blackberries on top :)

After chilling in the fridge for over 12 hours and with some fresh blackberries on top 🙂

After it’s been cut into, you can see the wafers. They didn’t look quite so tilted in person.

After it’s been cut into, you can see the wafers. They didn’t look quite so tilted in person.

DSCF4289

The book said to cut on the bias, so I did. I think it was the right choice :)

The book said to cut on the bias, so I did. I think it was the right choice 🙂

The cake was delicious. Ian and I enjoyed it twice, once after a date and once with friends, and my mom and aunt also got to enjoy a piece. We all loved it. It was very chocolatey, with just the right amount of other flavors to complement it.

More of George 🙂

Getting some quality holding time

Getting some quality holding time

Cutie pie snuggling on daddy

Cutie pie snuggling on daddy

He’s so happy in the mornings :)

He’s so happy in the mornings 🙂

This entry was posted in Baby, Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #29 Blackberry Chocolate Cream Icebox Cake

  1. Pingback: My Favorite cakes from Vintage Cakes | Sweet Tooth Mama

Comment on this post

