#15 Mississippi Mud Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

First recipe for cupcakes so far. I was very excited for the timing of this recipe because our theme for community group tonight is “Finger Food”. Cake is never finger food, unless it’s transformed into cupcakes. Perfect.

It says in the book that both the frosting and cupcakes are easy and quick to make, which is sort of true. The cupcakes were a cinch. The frosting while not too difficult, had very precise timing and directions that could be easy – easy to screw up, that is. This frosting recipe doesn’t call for that canned marshmallow fluff, or a bag of marshmallows, you marsh and mallow this thing all yourself. The result is quite lovely, and now I have confidence that I can make my own marshmallows at home when Christmastime rolls around again.

Ingredients (except for I forgot to put out the canola oil)

Ingredients (except for I forgot to put out the canola oil)

Hot coffee and cocoa

Hot coffee and cocoa

practically a mocha

practically a mocha

sifted dry ingredients

sifted dry ingredients

with the chocolate chips and toasted pecan bits mixed in

with the chocolate chips and toasted pecan bits mixed in

liquids

liquids

beautifully blended

beautifully blended

adding the “mocha”

adding the “mocha”

liquids added to the dry ingredients

liquids added to the dry ingredients

Muddy

Muddy

Looking pretty edible :)

Looking pretty edible 🙂

DSCF3218

Next came the slightly more complicated frosting portion. She says the frosting should be used immediately so I waited for the cupcakes too cool before bothering getting started.

sugar-water and cream of tartar getting ready to cook itself up

sugar-water and cream of tartar getting ready to cook itself up

egg whites and salt just hanging out until the time is right

egg whites and salt just hanging out until the time is right

covering it at the early stages of boiling traps the steam and prevents the sugar from crystalizing

covering it at the early stages of boiling traps the steam and prevents the sugar from crystalizing

DSCF3223

my candy thermometer is a little bit huge for that pot

my candy thermometer is a little bit huge for that pot

Once I got to this stage (soft peaks) I had to wait until the sugar got close to the soft ball stage (242ºF) before continuing to whip it into stiff peaks

Once I got to this stage (soft peaks) I had to wait until the sugar got close to the soft ball stage (242ºF) before continuing to whip it into stiff peaks

Ready to roll

Ready to roll

I whipped up the egg whites and right when the thermometer said 242ºF, they were stiff. So I added the sugar, being very careful not to get the syrup on the whisk attachment while it whipped it all together.

I whipped up the egg whites and right when the thermometer said 242ºF, they were stiff. So I added the sugar, being very careful not to get the syrup on the whisk attachment while it whipped it all together.

a little vanilla to flavor it in the best way

a little vanilla to flavor it in the best way

A beautiful Marshmallow frosting! Not too hard but many places where I could have messed it up.

A beautiful Marshmallow frosting! Not too hard but many places where I could have messed it up.

Piped onto the cooled cupcakes. I had some fun experimenting with how to complete decorating them. I don’t have a very practiced hand when it comes to piping, especially piping with a Ziploc baggy.

Piped onto the cooled cupcakes. I had some fun experimenting with how to complete decorating them. I don’t have a very practiced hand when it comes to piping, especially piping with a Ziploc baggy.

Plain

Plain

Cocoa powder dusted on

Cocoa powder dusted on

I brought a few of these ones to my community band concert for the flute section because I had promised my friend Tracey that I would bring her one of my cake experiments one of these days. A cupcake was the perfect way to bring one to band. But I couldn’t just bring one, I had to bring enough for the whole flute section. There should still be enough for my Bible Study O:-) And they all said they were delicious. The chunkiness from the nuts and chocolate chips makes them a more unique kind of cupcake.

I brought a few of these ones to my community band concert for the flute section because I had promised my friend Tracey that I would bring her one of my cake experiments one of these days. A cupcake was the perfect way to bring one to band. But I couldn’t just bring one, I had to bring enough for the whole flute section. There should still be enough for my Bible Study O:-) And they all said they were delicious. The chunkiness from the nuts and chocolate chips makes them a more unique kind of cupcake.

My handy dandy cake carrier, and some prenatal vitamins hanging out on my kitchen counter.

My handy dandy cake carrier, and some prenatal vitamins hanging out on my kitchen counter.

What to do when you don’t have piping bags (or tips) and all you want is a controlled spiral of frosting

What to do when you don’t have piping bags (or tips) and all you want is a controlled spiral of frosting

I decided these should be toasted marshmallow cupcakes and used my butane kitchen torch to toast them. I think I made the right choice. :)

I decided these should be toasted marshmallow cupcakes and used my butane kitchen torch to toast them. I think I made the right choice. 🙂

DSCF3247

Julia tells us that this recipe makes her want to sing with Bing Crosby to the song “Mississippi Mud”. I had never heard this song so I had to go to Youtube, and now I’m sharing my findings with you.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #15 Mississippi Mud Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

  1. Pingback: My Favorite cakes from Vintage Cakes | Sweet Tooth Mama

Comment on this post

