#39 Double Dip Caramel Cake

I was very excited about this cake. My dear friend Kathy was having a little birthday gathering and I offered to bring a yummy cake. This one was definitely geared towards my taste buds. I LOVE caramel.

The tricky thing about this cake is the part where you have to make caramel sauce from scratch. I attempted it once before and instead of a sauce it was more of a soup. I figured since this book has yet to fail me, it would be a bit more reliable than my previous attempt. I ended up trying this 3 times, the third time was the charm. Unfortunately I didn’t get photos of the pain-staking attempts. I only got the very last bit of my successful attempt.

My first attempt I followed the directions as they were written. Most of the recipes that have you make a caramel gave a page reference of “caramel-making tips”, but this one didn’t so I figured it was different. That resulted in a pot full of rock-hard crystalized sugar. Fail #1. At least I hadn’t wasted the cream. Next step I decided to act sooner and also washed down the sides of the pan with a pastry brush. I saw it starting to crystalize again and figured I could try adding some cream and see if it turned out at all like caramel; it turned out like sweetened condensed milk. Fail #2. The last attempt I changed pans, instead of my non-stick pan, I used one of my stainless steel pans. It still decided to crystalize a bit, but it also continued to caramelize which it hadn’t before. Finally I added the cream and while there were a few hard chunks of crystalized caramel, they reheated back to a liquid once I put it on the stove for a few minutes.

Hot bubbly caramel sauce

Hot bubbly caramel sauce

The finished deliciousness

The finished deliciousness

Cake ingredients

Cake ingredients

Eggs, sour cream, and vanilla

Eggs, sour cream, and vanilla

blended

blended

Different from most recipes this one says to first combine the dry ingredients and the sugar in the mixer bowl.

Different from most recipes this one says to first combine the dry ingredients and the sugar in the mixer bowl.

combined

combined

Adding the butter and more sour cream

Adding the butter and more sour cream

blended

blended

After adding the egg mixture

After adding the egg mixture

oven-ready

oven-ready

Baked

Baked

DSCF4901

cooled and more cooling

cooled and more cooling

sawed in half, a little uneven, but not a problem

sawed in half, a little uneven, but not a problem

Frosting ingredients

Frosting ingredients

Butter and powdered sugar. LOTS of powdered sugar.

Butter and powdered sugar. LOTS of powdered sugar.

This recipe had the most sugar of any cake I’ve baked so far. A total of about 9 cups. :O (caramel, cake, and frosting)

With part of the caramel sauce added

With part of the caramel sauce added

Whipped up with the whipping cream

Whipped up with the whipping cream

Caramel sauce spread on the first layer

Caramel sauce spread on the first layer

Frosting atop the caramel

Frosting atop the caramel

half done!

half done!

With the last layer on top! a bit more stable than the Stack Cake

With the last layer on top! a bit more stable than the Stack Cake

"crumb coated"

“crumb coated”

Frosted and combed

Frosted and combed

DSCF4913

Lighting the candle

Lighting the make-shift candle

DSCF4919

My piece

My piece

It was SO yummy. I think I want this cake for my own birthday this year. 😀

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #39 Double Dip Caramel Cake

  1. Pingback: My Favorite cakes from Vintage Cakes | Sweet Tooth Mama

  2. Paloma says:

    Well allow me to say WOW! That looks amazing! 🙂 It does look like a great birthday cake!

Comment on this post

