#52 (The final cake!) Champagne Cake

I had planned all year long to make this cake for New Year’s Eve. What could be more perfect than to end it all off with a Champagne Cake? The cake itself containing champagne, and a champagne custard as the filling and flavoring to the outer whipped cream frosting. It was perfect.

By this time the word “custard” was familiar, and not so daunting as the first few times I saw it. The rest of it was a breeze, and was simply the perfect cake to end on, in all aspects.

Cake Ingredients

Cake Ingredients

This is my 2nd jar of baking powder. I made more than 52 cakes this year and only went through 2 cans of baking powder. You'd think they would start making those little containers even smaller since they take so long to get through.

This is my 2nd jar of baking powder. I made more than 52 cakes this year and only went through 2 cans of baking powder. You’d think they would start making those little containers even smaller since they take so long to get through.

Dry ingredients, sifted and whisked

Dry ingredients, sifted and whisked

Oil, sugar, and eggs, this time I used organic sugar (had to try it at least once!)

Oil, sugar, and eggs, this time I used organic sugar (had to try it at least once!)

Blended

Blended

The champagne being added, and all the bubbles fizzing.

The champagne being added, and all the bubbles fizzing.

Into the pans and oven!

Into the pans and oven!

Baked

Baked

Starting the custard (just milk here)

Starting the custard (just milk here)

Sugar, yolks, and corn starch

Sugar, yolks, and corn starch

Adding the champagne

Adding the champagne

Adding some milk to the yolk mixture

Adding some milk to the yolk mixture

All the milk mixed in

All the milk mixed in

Back in the pan, waiting for some thickening and bubbles

Back in the pan, waiting for some thickening and bubbles

Thickened and bubbling

Thickened and bubbling

Straining the custard

Straining the custard

Strained

Strained

After adding the butter and vanilla

After adding the butter and vanilla

Cooling out of the pans

Cooling out of the pans

Completely out

Completely out

Funny story here...

Funny story here…

This is my 52nd cake. Very many of these cakes were layer cakes that needed their tops cut off. Some of them needed to be sliced in half to create more layers. Some needed both. Very often I would leave cake tops on a plate on the counter for anyone to munch on. Usually me, but I’d leave it for Ian “just in case” he wanted to try it. He never tried them and I always ended up eating the tops myself or throwing them away.

This time was different. Ian decided to take a small piece out of the cake half shown, when they happened to be cake pieces that I was going to use and were NOT up for grabs. Of all the times 🙂 It worked out, I was able to cover it up with frosting and I’m sure no one noticed once it was sliced.

After adding the custard to the 2nd layer

After adding the custard to the 2nd layer

Adding some whipped cream frosting

Adding some whipped cream frosting

DSCF6251 DSCF6252 DSCF6253 DSCF6254

My slice

My slice

DSCF6258 DSCF6259 DSCF6260

Everyone loved it, and I think there was only one or two slices left. It was the perfect New Year’s cake 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

