#50 Gingerbread Icebox cake with Mascarpone Mousse

This one I thought was the most intimidating-looking recipe in the book. The image made it seem very complicated and not all that tasty (to my carmel-loving tastebuds). Boy was I wrong. One of the easiest in the book and so rewardingly tasteful!! DELICIOUS!!

The trick to icebox cakes is knowing you want them a day ahead. They need to chill, basically overnight.

Ingredients!

Ingredients!

I made these wafer cookies at my in-laws house so that I could visit. So a big thank you to my mother-in-law for the use of all her ingredients! Now I have plenty of molasses for my next cake. 🙂

dry ingredients whisked

dry ingredients whisked

Butter and sugar

Butter and sugar

with eggs

with eggs

with molasses!

with molasses!

with flour/spices

with flour/spices

wrapped up into 4 equal parts to chill in the fridge

wrapped up into 4 equal parts to chill in the fridge

rolled out SO VERY thin

rolled out SO VERY thin

cut into circles and oven-ready!

cut into circles and oven-ready!

Baked

Baked

I made 70 of these crazy thin wafers.

Mousse ingredients

Mousse ingredients

I’m missing one container of mascarpone here. I didn’t notice the recipe called for a whole pound of it so my one 8 oz container wasn’t enough. I had to run to the store at 10:30 pm so that I could finish before bed in order for it to chill to be eaten the following night!

Also, see the image? Doesn’t it look intimidating to you?

whip it good!

whip it good!

all ready for this

all ready for this

a tbsp on the platter

a tbsp on the platter

1st layer

1st layer

9 layers later...

8 layers later…

The cake was supposed to be 10 layers of wafers, but was 9 instead. I think this is because the only round cookie cutter I had was a 1/2″ bigger than what she said to use, causing the whole cake to be a little wider. So while there is probably the same amount of cake it is one layer short. But with 9 layers who can tell??

a lllll done!

alllll done!

Pretty!

Pretty!

The remaining wafers

The remaining wafers

This cake was almost a blend between gingerbread men and cheesecake. There wasn’t really another way I found to describe it. It was almost like having gingerbread cookies inside of a cheesecake, but it was better than that sounds.

CX511317994CA

George by the tree ❤

This entry was posted in Baby, Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

