#48 Honey Bee Cake, and an engagement celebrated

This week the people in my community group were very upset; I did not bring them cake. On Wednesday Ian and I celebrated the day he proposed to me, December 4th 2009. While I was living in Seattle, he surprised me with an early visit in front of the house I was living in as I walked back from class. From far away I thought it was one of my roommates boyfriends, holding flowers. As I got closer I realized it was MY boyfriend and the flowers were for me! Then I ran up to him and was baffled at how he was there so early in the day instead of around 11pm that night when I was supposed to get off work. He explained it by asking me to marry him. Of course I said yes and we went inside, giddy on cloud 9. He also let me know that he had spoken to my boss and arranged it so that I didn’t have to go in to work that night, and he was going to take me to a nice restaurant on the water called Ray’s Boathouse. I was already swooning but with that I was extremely impressed (I still am). We watched White Christmas and then posted on Facebook our engagement afterwards abandoning the world as we went out to dinner and watched my ring sparkle in the romantic lighting on the water.

We're Engaged!!

We’re Engaged!!

The next year we were married and living back in Vancouver, but we decided we should always go up to Ray’s Boathouse on December 4th. In 2010 and 2011 we started the day out by shopping in Bellevue. In 2012 I was pregnant and we didn’t go up and regretted it miserably. So this year we simply could not miss. We managed to find sitters for George, made sure he had enough milk and drove up, the whole day to ourselves. It was a wonderful date. 🙂

My friend Leah informed me that she still had not tried one of my cakes and I was almost done with them! So I told her I would make a cake that she could try so this next cake is what she got to taste. 🙂

Ingredients

Ingredients

Dry Ingredients sifted

Dry Ingredients sifted

butter, sugar, and honey

butter, sugar, and honey

Blended

Blended

After adding eggs

After adding eggs

After adding flour

After adding flour

DSCF5766

pan ready

pan ready

Into the pan

Into the pan

Spreading into the pan

Spreading into the pan

Just about ready

Just about ready

All smoothed out

All smoothed out

The glaze cooking on the stove

The glaze cooking on the stove

This part was entirely done, pictures and all, by my friend Leah. George had just woken up and was hungry so while I was feeding him, she was tending to the glaze.

Melted and blended

Melted and blended

Baked and pouring the glaze on the hole-poked top

Baked and pouring the glaze on the hole-poked top

Sprinkling on the toasted almonds

Sprinkling on the toasted almonds

sprinlked

sprinlked

After more glaze was added

After more glaze was added

after the last step and out of the oven

after the last step and out of the oven, looking nice and foamy around the edge

Flipped and turned out, ready to eat.

Flipped and turned out, ready to eat.

This cake was delicious. It was served warm and had such a unique flavor (like so many of these cakes) brought on by a local maple raw honey I used combined with the toasted almonds. I ate it for breakfast the next day, couldn’t resist. The leftovers I brought to my neighbors to enjoy so that it wouldn’t be up to Ian and I to finish the cake since our community group had to miss out on it.

Super messy George, loves his sweet potatoes.

Super messy George, loves his sweet potatoes.

George is eating solid food now and he LOVES it. Although he doesn’t seem to like spinach, he makes a really funny icky face and starts gagging if we give it to him straight.

This entry was posted in Baby, Life, Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #48 Honey Bee Cake, and an engagement celebrated

  1. I’m a sucker for love and engagement stories. Thanks for sharing yours. =)

Comment on this post

