#47 Old Vermont Burnt Sugar Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

I had the pleasure of making this cake with my sweet cousin (in-law) Gracie. We discovered that George absolutely LOVES Gracie as we caught him laughing hysterically with her a few times.

Pure joy:

So Gracie did about half the work, which was fun for her because she likes to bake but her mom doesn’t care for it much. That is exactly how it was in my house; I was the only one who liked to bake and so became the designated baker in the house. I don’t mind, and I don’t think she does either 🙂

We took a couple of days to make this cake because we had to wait on one of the ingredients so we had a late start in addition to one of the steps taking a very long time (the burnt sugar). I wasn’t too surprised because it was basically making carmel and adding water so it turned into a syrup, but it really did take forever.

Ingredients

Cake ingredients

Burnt Sugar: at the beginning

Burnt Sugar: at the beginning

Burnt Sugar: The first sign of melting

Burnt Sugar: FINALLY melting

Burnt Sugar: Almost all the sugar is melted

Burnt Sugar: Almost all the sugar is melted

Burnt Sugar: Ready for the hot water

Burnt Sugar: Ready for the hot water

Burnt Sugar: Adding the hot water

Burnt Sugar: Adding the hot water

Burnt Sugar: Stirring it so that it is a uniform syrup

Burnt Sugar: Stirring it so that it is a uniform syrup

Almost uniform

Almost uniform

Perfect

Perfect

Sifted dry goods

Sifted dry goods

Butter and sugars

Butter and sugars

Creamed

Creamed

After adding oil

After adding oil…

And eggs

…and eggs…

Then maple syrup

…then maple syrup

With the flour mixture and burnt sugar added in - pan ready

With the flour mixture and burnt sugar added in – pan ready

baked

baked

cooing out of the pans

cooing out of the pans

a crumb coat of frosting

a crumb coat of frosting

wholly frosted

wholly frosted

DSCF5672

Cut into - just look at how smooth it turned out!

Cut into: Perfection

My replica of the book photo

My replica of the book photo

My slice

My slice

Oh my was this one delicious. Everyone loved it. It was just the right amount of every flavor: caramel, maple, cream cheese, etc. I will be happy to make this one again, despite the burnt sugar process taking forever. I am a big caramel/butterscotch fan, so this one was definitely one that made my taste buds happy.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

