#44 Coffee Crunch Spiral

I can’t believe I only have 8 more cakes after this! The end is near and it will be bittersweet when it comes. I have really enjoyed making all these cakes, and I’m sure I’ll find something else to dive into for 2014.

This coffee cake looked intimidating but was fairly easy and DELICIOUS. I wasn’t there for the tasting at my church group but I had saved a piece for Ian and I to have and we both loved it. I don’t know many people who aren’t coffee fans (they are out there though and I honestly think they’re crazy), so almost everyone would enjoy this cake. It is delightful. Light, sweet, coffee, creamy, crunchy, YUM.

The topping I made first, she says it can easily be made a few days ahead, so I made it the day before.

Baking soda and finely ground coffee beans

Baking soda and finely ground coffee beans

coffee, corn syrup, and sugar getting hot

coffee, corn syrup, and sugar getting hot

Working it's way up to 290ºF.

Working it’s way up to 290ºF.

Poured straight onto a greased pan once it was at the right temperature

Poured straight onto a greased pan once it was at the right temperature

Once cooled it was flat, light, and very solid

Once cooled it was flat, light, and very solid

IMG_2800

Notice the cookbook with the image in the background. I am pleased to say that it turned out quite a bit like the image!

Broke it up in big chunks to fit it into the Ziploc

Broke it up in big chunks to fit it into the Ziploc

After roll-pinning it a bit

After roll-pinning it a bit

crunched

crunched

Next was the cake, which was surprisingly simple.

The greased, parchmented, and greased again pan

The greased, parchmented, and greased again pan

ingredients minus eggs (which were getting up to room temperature in a water bath

ingredients minus eggs (which were getting up to room temperature in a water bath

sifted and whisked dry ingredients

sifted and whisked dry ingredients

yolks and oil

yolks and oil

foamy egg whites

foamy egg whites

soft peaks

soft peaks

shiny and glossy firm peaks with sugar

shiny and glossy firm peaks with sugar

After folding the yolk mixture with the white mixture (I missed a step where the yolks were combined with the dry ingredients)

After folding the yolk mixture with the white mixture (I missed a step where the yolks were combined with the dry ingredients)

In the oven

In the oven

baked

baked

Next came the filling which was basically coffee-flavored whipped cream – YUM (can you tell I like coffee?)

 

whipping cream and instant espresso powder

whipping cream and instant espresso powder

whipping it up with sugar

whipping it up with sugar

Adding vanilla

Adding vanilla

Ready for the cake

Ready for the cake

Then came the assembly. The scary part…

Some whipped cream plopped on the cake

Some whipped cream plopped on the cake

Spread out

Spread out

Rolled up! It was very easy

Rolled up! It was very easy

pretty little log

pretty little log

Before...

Before…

After!

After!

This is one step I either missed or wish it had been in the german Chocolate roll. Cutting off the end makes so much sense! No wonder I thought the other one looked terrible. Also, I am so glad I found this platter at Goodwill when I went to college! It has been the only thing fitting for a roll cake. I’d probably be putting it on a cutting board if it weren’t for that platter.

Frosted on the outside and chilling in the fridge

Frosted on the outside and chilling in the fridge

should have cut this side in a little more to expose the cream better

should have cut this side in a little more to expose the cream better

DSCF5461

With the pre-made crunch all over! Pretty messy.

With the pre-made crunch all over! Pretty messy.

After some clean up. Looking very logy!

After some clean up. Looking very logy!

Pretty swirl

Pretty swirl

I usually take my cakes to church group for after dinner, but this time we were gonna see a movie that was only playing on a wednesday night, so we asked our dear friend Kathy to babysit so we could see it with my mom. Turned out the movie was sold out so we saw Ender’s Game instead. LOVED that movie. I read the book a couple years ago for the first time and thought it was the best book-to-movie production I’ve ever seen!

I didn’t want my cake sitting on my counter all week not getting eaten, so I saved enough for Ian, Kathy, and I to enjoy, and took the rest to group before the movie. I think they liked it. They texted me about a gazillion texts just saying things like “cake!” and “CCCAAAAAAKKKKE”. That is just their lovely way of expressing themselves. Nothing beats one word sometimes.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

