#36 Malted Milk Chocolate Cupcakes

There was one ingredient in this one that had me calling all the grocery stores looking for it. Before George, I probably wouldn’t have bothered calling and would have just driven everywhere looking for it. With this sweet little boy though, that is highly impractical. So I call. I have called many a grocery store so far when these recipes have some odd and unique ingredient. Thankfully, I now know where to find those ingredients, or I now have them if I want to remake the cakes that call for them.

This cake called for malted milk powder. The stuff you would put in a malt shake if you were to make one. Not Ovaltine. It even says that specifically in the recipe, “(Not Ovaltine).” So first I went to Fred Meyer hoping they would have it while I did my regular shopping and picked up the other ingredients I needed. No malted milk powder. That was when I decided to call around. So the next day, early in the morning before I was gonna head to the store, I started by calling the next closest grocery store to Fred’s; New Seasons Market. It is directly across the street from my neighborhood Fred Meyer. No luck there. Next was Whole Foods. None there either, but the guy I spoke to suggested that barley malt might work instead and when people have asked for that they have sent them to breweries which carry it. Sorry dude, barley malt is NOTHING like malted milk powder. How does “the stuff you put in a malt shake” make you think, “oh like when you make beer!” That guy was obviously more into beer than sweets. I can’t blame him, I like a good microbrew, but seriously. I sincerely hope that he misheard me, wasn’t really paying attention, or his girlfriend just said she’d marry him and he was on cloud 9 or something. Poor guy, I really shouldn’t bash him.
Next was Chuck’s Produce. None there. Then I called Winco and the gal I talked to knew exactly what I was talking about and even knew where it was on which aisle without having to check. I should’ve guessed. The most annoying store to get to from my house WOULD have the ingredient I need. But it’s Winco, and everything seems to be cheaper there. So I managed to have even more things that I needed from the store, just one day later, and I picked those up at Winco as well.

Milk Chocolate chips

Milk Chocolate chips

Malted Milk Powder

Malted Milk Powder

Mixed with whipping cream

Mixed with whipping cream

After the  malted milk powder and whipping cream heated up, and poured over the chips (much like normal ganache)

After the malted milk powder and whipping cream heated up, and poured over the chips (much like normal ganache)

Blended after sitting for 5 minutes

Blended after sitting for 5 minutes

Once it had chilled for 2 hours+

Once it had chilled for 2 hours+

After adding butter and all whipped up and creamy looking!

After adding butter and all whipped up and creamy looking!

Cake ingredients (that mass of brown is chopped unsweetened chocolate)

Cake ingredients (that mass of brown is chopped unsweetened chocolate)

Sugar  and dry goods sifted together

Sugar and dry goods sifted together

with the malted milk powder added

with the malted milk powder added

Heating the chocolate and butter

Heating the chocolate and butter

After mixing it with canola oil

After mixing it with canola oil

After adding  the sugar/flour/malt mixture plus some milk

After adding the sugar/flour/malt mixture plus some milk

more milk, vanilla, and eggs

more milk, vanilla, and eggs

ready for the cupcake liners

ready for the cupcake liners

In the oven ready to be baked!  They were filled higher than normal for cupcakes, as recommended by the book.

In the oven ready to be baked! They were filled higher than normal for cupcakes, as recommended by the book.

Baked, and looking lovely

Baked, and looking lovely

Perfect

Perfect

The first one I frosted. It was a little bit melty because I didn't wait long enough for it to cool. So I waited to frost the rest.

The first one I frosted. It was a little bit melty because I didn’t wait long enough for it to cool. So I waited to frost the rest.

DSCF4636

All frosted :)

All frosted 🙂

That was the  one I had frosted first. The book told me to wait and I didn't and that is what happened. Thankfully it was salvageable, and no one had to eat the weird melty-messiness.

That was the one I had frosted first. The book told me to wait and I didn’t and that is what happened. Thankfully it was salvageable, and no one had to eat the weird melty-messiness.

These were a huge hit. My sister and her husband were in town and we had a BBQ at our house with my local family and my brother-in-law’s local family. It was a lot of fun and everyone loved the cupcakes. They were moist and dense, they were almost brownie-like, thanks to that lovely malted milk powder. And although I’m not a fan of malt shakes or Whoppers (the candy topping on these cupcakes), I really liked these cupcakes. Some people took some home, others refused to because they knew they would eat them. It was the perfect thing to have for the BBQ and I’m so glad they turned out so well.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

