#35 Blitz Torte

This is supposedly a traditional German birthday cake. I always thought this one looked particularly delicious. It looked like cake, whipped frosting, berries, custard, cake, whipped frosting, and more berries. And nuts somewhere in the mix. I was right, except for one part, and that one through me for a loop.

Custard Ingredients

Custard Ingredients

Honey, egg yolk, and salt.

Honey, egg yolk, and salt.

Blended

Blended

With some corn starch added

With some corn starch added

Milk

Milk

Blended and stove-ready

Blended and stove-ready

At the beginning of the cooking stage.

At the beginning of the cooking stage.

Making custard is very much like making pudding from scratch. You think it couldn't possibly be much longer and ten minutes later it still isn't quite done. Aka really annoying. ;)

Making custard is very much like making pudding from scratch. You think it couldn’t possibly be much longer and ten minutes later it still isn’t quite done. Aka really annoying. 😉

Finally thickened up and ready for butter to be added and then chilled.

Finally thickened up and ready for butter to be added and then chilled.

Cake ingredients

Cake ingredients

Sifted dry goods

Sifted dry goods

Butter and brown sugar mixed

Butter and brown sugar mixed

With eggs

With eggs

milk and vanilla

milk and vanilla

all three mixtures combined and pan ready

all three mixtures combined and pan ready

spread into the pan (you can see it's very shallow)

spread into the pan (you can see it’s very shallow)

Oven ready! Or so I thought...

Oven ready! Or so I thought…

Like I said, I thought that the filling was a whipped frosting, but it turns out it was a meringue! So I was not suppose to stick the above part in the oven yet, I had to whip up a meringue and then spread it over the batter and top with toasted hazelnuts! Which made this one a very unique cake. I have never made anything like it.

Meringue

Meringue

Meringue in the pan with chopped toasted hazelnuts sprinkled all over

Meringue in the pan with chopped toasted hazelnuts sprinkled all over

Baked!

Baked!

Cooled

Cooled

Bottom layer

Bottom layer

All finished!

All finished!

DSCF4603 DSCF4606 DSCF4607 DSCF4608 DSCF4609

The meringue didn’t quite stay smooth like it should have, and that’s probably because I went on a date with my husband while Gran took this one out of the oven for me. It was fine, but it probably should’ve been turned out of it’s pan after 20 minutes rather than 2 hours, but I didn’t want to make my mom do that while watching George.

We had our community group over for dinner after I made this one, and not a single piece was leftover. It was so unique and delicious, we all loved it. You could definitely taste the honey in it, and it went very well with all the other flavors. The recipe says you could use your favorite jam in place of the custard (which would take far less time) and the fresh berries are optional though wonderful.

 

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #35 Blitz Torte

  1. Paloma says:

    This is beautiful! I love this book as well! We have actually been baking from this AMAZING book for a year, and when I say we, I am talking about “The Cake Slice Bakers” … have you ever heard about our group? we bake a different cake each month, we bake from a different book each year… it’s a lot of fun… we love cake! 😀 … LOL! But this is not a self promoting comment… I was just looking online more about this book (which we’re about to finish) and I found your blog… I had never seen anybody else baking from this book as much as we do! It is fun to see someone who is enjoying this recipes as well! Blitz Torte was not a cake we ever baked so I was intrigued as to how it turns out… we actually had it up for voting but it lost by 1 vote… I think I will be making it soon after reading your “review” on this recipe… Great job! We’ve enjoyed all our cakes from this book except 1, it wasn’t bad it wasn’t great either… just… blah… it was the Maple Pecan Chiffon Cake with Brown Butter Frosting… I haven’t checked if you’ve baked that one already, but … out of all our bakers probably only 1 really loved it… and I think that person even said “I loved the frosting, the cake was just ok”… Most of us didn’t care for neither… LOL! Anyway… it’s great meeting another cake/baking/Vintage Cakes Book lover 🙂

Comment on this post

