#32 Daffodil Cake

This cake is called Daffodil cake because it is yellow and white. You are supposed to drop the two different colored batters into the pan so that when it comes out it looks kinda like a daffodil, hence the name. I’m not sure I succeeded in this matter, because you can’t really tell there are two colors. But it was yummy – a lime angel food cake.

Ingredients

Ingredients plus a monitor of a sweet sleeping George ❤ Also that little green vial in front is LIME OIL. I had to special order it from New Seasons, they don’t even usually carry it. These cakes do call for some odd ingredients now and then…

Cake flour (with some other ingredients) that has been sifted FOUR times

Cake flour (with some other ingredients) that has been sifted FOUR times

Sugar and lime zest

Sugar and lime zest

egg yolks and sugar

egg yolks and sugar

blended

blended

whipped egg whites

whipped egg whites

blended

sugar-lime blended

limey sugar mixed with the egg whites

limey sugar mixed with the egg whites

with some flour mixture folded in

with some flour mixture folded in

Also with some flour mixture folded in

Also with some flour mixture folded in

The two batters

The two batters

oven ready

oven ready

Baked

Baked

You can *sort of* see the yellow and white pattern

You can *sort of* see the yellow and white pattern, I don’t think I was very good at dropping in the batter the way I was supposed to…I also didn’t do a good job of making the two batters an equal amount, which may have been another of my downfalls.

Iced with powdered sugar and lime juice

Iced with powdered sugar and lime juice – it still looks pretty good 🙂

DSCF4473 DSCF4474

I made this one along with a repeat of the Cherry Chip Cake with Cherry Buttercream  (this time with the correct kind of cherries) for a dear friend’s wedding reception. It was a backyard wedding, with potluck-style food, so of course I brought cake. I forgot to take a picture of the other cake but it turned out lovely despite my discovery of needing a new food processor.

Ian and I shared a piece of each, and I think ONE other person also had a piece of the cherry cake. Other than that it was all still there (because there was other wedding cake and I don’t think anyone noticed my cakes because they were on the wrong table) when we were ready to leave so I took it to a friends house who was celebrating their 40th birthday literally around the corner. Once it was set up with the food there, it was gone in seconds. That made me happy 🙂

"iBaby: there's a nap for that"

“iBaby: there’s a nap for that”

"I''m the favorite"

“I”m the favorite”

DSCF4431

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #32 Daffodil Cake

  1. Pingback: #3 Apple Custard Pie with Orange | Sweet Tooth Mama

Comment on this post

