#31 Berry-Long cake with Ginger Crumb

Ingredients

Ingredients

This is the very first cake in the book and after doing over half the recipes, I’ve finally baked cake #1.
This Cake originally used all strawberries but the author of the cookbook recommends using whatever berries you like. I chose a combination of wild blackberries from the side of the road and fresh raspberries.

My berries

My berries
Berry mixture

Berry mixture

Crumb topping ingredients

Crumb topping ingredients

After mixing with the butter

After mixing and with the butter

Butter mixed in

Butter mixed in

Cake dry ingredients

Cake dry ingredients

Dry ingredients mixed

Dry ingredients mixed

About to mix in the butter

About to mix in the butter

Butter mixed in

Butter mixed in

Milk and eggs

Milk and eggs

Wet and dry combined

Wet and dry combined

Spread into the pan

Spread into the pan

With the berry mixture on top

With the berry mixture on top

The final ginger crumb mixture on the top, oven-ready

The final ginger crumb mixture on the top, oven-ready

Baked, fresh out of the oven

Baked, fresh out of the oven

This cake was considered a “Hasty Cake” in the book, but it took me a while. I think if I made it again however, it would go a lot faster, especially without the picture taking. 🙂

After it cooled, certain parts sunk down a little making it very bubbly looking

After it cooled, certain parts sunk down a little making it very bubbly looking

My very own piece

My very own piece

It would be delicious with vanilla ice cream for a true dessert, but I’m gonna have it for breakfast. I like to think of it as a sort of coffee cake…but I’ll have it with tea 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #31 Berry-Long cake with Ginger Crumb

Comment on this post

