#30 Stack Cake

This cake had very fun timing. I went to a beautiful wedding on Saturday (a week ago) where they served a lovely multi-layer cake with the layers exposed, very similar looking to this cake. As soon as I saw it I thought to myself, “That looks exactly like the Stack Cake I’m going to make!” Little did I know that that was the cake I had assigned myself for the following week. I had planned to make it in honor of my wedding anniversary to enjoy it with my husband.

I was excited to read that this cake is a traditional wedding cake for the south. The guests would bring one layer of cake and the family would assemble it. The more popular the bride and groom, the bigger the cake! Very interesting idea, though I’m not surprised it hasn’t stuck since it would require every guest to know how to bake a decent cake. But how perfect that the bride and groom had selected a similar type of cake for their wedding this last week? Like I said, it was fun timing.

I forgot the ingredients picture again. Those are red plums atop butter, sugar, and half a vanilla bean thrown in. This part is a compote to use as a filling.

I forgot the ingredients picture again. Those are red plums atop butter, sugar, and half a vanilla bean thrown in. This part is a compote to use as a filling.

After simmering for about 30 minutes

After simmering for about 30 minutes

Cake ingredients

Cake ingredients

Dry sifted goods

Dry sifted goods

Butter and brown sugar

Butter and brown sugar

"wet sand"

“wet sand”

With some oil and whipped up

With some oil and whipped up

With the eggs

With the eggs

After adding the dry goods and some buttermilk it is pan-ready

After adding the dry goods and some buttermilk it is pan-ready

When I added the dry goods, I somehow managed to bump my mixing bowl and some of the flour went flying. I managed to snap a photo of my little mess.

It leaped over the counter like a meatball

Here is my flour mess. There was much more that ended up on the counter, but this jumped over my counter and onto the floor.

3/6 baked

3/6 baked

The first layer with the compote spread across.

The first layer with the compote spread across.

4 layers

4 layers

All 6 layers. It was making me nervous with so many layers...

All 6 layers. It was making me nervous with so many layers…

With the icing on top! Getting a little messy...

With the icing on top! Getting a little messy…

Starting to tilt! I was feeling a bit like Fauna in Sleeping Beauty at this moment.

Starting to tilt! I was feeling a bit like Fauna in Sleeping Beauty at this moment.

DSCF4331 DSCF4333

What the cake was supposed to look like...

What the cake was supposed to look like…

What it ACTUALLY looked like

What it ACTUALLY looked like

Although it tilted, All I had to do is push the layers around a bit to center it once it came time to serve it up. A little bit messy but it turned out really well. It’s always fun to eat a cake that has so many layers. And although it wasn’t chocolate cake, it also didn’t have buttercream so my husband and I both enjoyed it. I didn’t have any sort of event to bring this to so I ended up giving it to my mother-in-law to serve at their dinner friday night, where it was a big hit.

20130728-143003.jpg

Cut into

One delicious 6-layer slice

One delicious 6-layer slice

Baby George is always so happy and smiley in the mornings :)

Baby George is always so happy and smiley in the mornings 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

