#28 Cherry Chip Cake with Cherry Buttercream

This cake was very similar to a couple other cakes I’ve made. It was like making a banana cake, the Goober cake, and the Pink cake all in one. Instead of bananas, there were dried cherries, it had ganache and frosting like the goober cake, and instead of raspberry purée there were dried cherries in the buttercream. The biggest downside was that I used the wrong kind of cherries. My mother-in-law happened to have ripe sour cherries (what I needed for the recipe) from her cherry tree along with a dehydrator so we were hoping that she would have enough for the recipe (6 ounces). Turns out the birds got to most of the cherries and what was left (1.5 pounds) only made 1.5 ounces dried cherries. Can you believe that? So crazy.
So I went to New Seasons and found dried Ranier and Bing. Apparently sour cherries is a type of cherry and not just a flavor description. I went with Bing because I figured they’d be the most sour or tart. But Bing cherries aren’t bright red, they’re more of a deep red so it made everything a sort of burgundy color instead of red. And the flavor isn’t as strong so it was kinda hard to identify the cherry flavor in the cake. Despite all this, it was delicious and everyone loved it. Although I would love to try making the cake again with dried sour cherries.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Simmering the cherries to plump them up.

Simmering the cherries to plump them up.

Plumped and in the food processor

Plumped and in the food processor

Processed

Processed

DSCF4243

Adding the milk

Adding the milk

All mixed together

All mixed together

The dry goods

The dry goods

Butter and Sugar

Butter and Sugar

Creamed

Creamed

With eggs

With eggs

After adding the first batch of dry goods

After adding the first batch of dry goods

After adding the first batch of the cherry-milk

After adding the first batch of the cherry-milk

Ready for the pans!

Ready for the pans!

Baked

Baked

Cake-ganache-frosting-cake-ganache

Cake-ganache-frosting-cake-ganache

DSCF4255

All frosted

All frosted

DSCF4259

I did add a little pink food color because I was taking it to a shower for a Baby girl. The future daughter of my dear friend Allie.

DSCF4261

I have too much fun making these cakes 🙂

Baby sleeping again. Onsie is a gift from my sister and brother-in-law :)

Baby sleeping again. Onsie is a gift from my sister and brother-in-law 🙂

My guys <3 I just couldn’t help but share the adorableness!!

My guys ❤
I just couldn’t help but share the adorableness!!

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #28 Cherry Chip Cake with Cherry Buttercream

  1. Pingback: #46 Black & White Cake and Edible Babies | Sweet Tooth Mama

  2. Pingback: #32 Daffodil Cake | Sweet Tooth Mama

Comment on this post

