#25 Goober Cake

Well, no baby yet. Looks like he is gonna be late like I expected. Depending on how late he arrives this may be my last cake post for a few weeks. I got ahead so I could take a break, but I was able to get another pre-baby cake in: the Goober Cake. This cake I had set aside for Ian’s birthday because he loves chocolate and peanut butter together, but he loved the Blackout Cake so much, I think I’ll be making that one for him instead. 🙂

Ingredients. Ian got me that ceramic egg crate, which is perfect for letting eggs get to room temperature! No worry of eggs rolling off the counter or hiding behind the coffee pot. :)

Ingredients. Ian got me that ceramic egg crate, which is perfect for letting eggs get to room temperature! No worry of eggs rolling off the counter or hiding behind the coffee pot. 🙂

Sifted dry goods

Sifted dry goods

Butter and sugar

Butter and sugar

Sandy

Sandy

Whipped up a bit

Whipped up a bit

After adding the eggs

After adding the eggs

Peanut butter

Peanut butter

Dry goods added

Dry goods added

All mixed

All mixed

In the pans

In the pans

Baked

Baked

The peanut butter frosting

The peanut butter frosting

All mixed

All mixed

DSCF3550

I was supposed to chill each layer after adding the ganache to firm it up, but I didn’t have time so it looks a little sloppier than I would like.

I was supposed to chill each layer after adding the ganache to firm it up, but I didn’t have time so it looks a little sloppier than I would like.

Cake, ganache, then pb frosting.

Cake, ganache, then pb frosting.

Cut into

Cut into

My very own slice :)

My very own slice 🙂

DSCF3554

It was a delicious chocolate peanut butter cake. The cake on it’s own wasn’t quite as yummy as the Peanut Butter Cake I’ve made before, but with the frosting added to it, it was fantastic.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

