#24 Flourless Peppermint Patty Cake

I was excited to make this cake for my mother-in-law’s birthday who is gluten-intolerant. 2nd of 2 flourless cakes in this book! It was a pretty quick cake as far as active time goes, but it kept me up until 3am because I started at 11pm or later and there were a few steps that just took time. The first being the cooking time, 45 minutes. Then it had to cool for an hour, then I had one quick step to do with it before letting it chill for another hour before covering it up with plastic wrap to chill in the fridge overnight! Glad I make a point to make cakes a day ahead of when I want them (unless they are best fresh), although it would’ve been better if I had started much earlier in the day…

Prepared springform pan

Prepared springform pan

Ingredients: lots of chocolates!

Ingredients: lots of chocolates!

Melting the butter and chocolate on my makeshift double boiler

Melting the butter and chocolate on my makeshift double boiler

Melted

Melted

Some very whipped up egg yolks!

Some very whipped up egg yolks!

yolks and chocolate

yolks and chocolate

blended

blended

egg whites

egg whites

Foamy

Foamy

after the egg whites were totally whipped and folded into the batter, this is the final batter in the pan.

after the egg whites were totally whipped and folded into the batter, this is the final batter in the pan.

Immediately out of the oven

Immediately out of the oven

After cooling an hour

After cooling an hour

Heating the cream for the white chocolate ganache mixture

Heating the cream for the white chocolate ganache mixture

Cream and chocolate together. This is the peppermint flavored center.

Cream and chocolate together. This is the peppermint flavored center.

In the cake crater

In the cake crater

After chilling overnight, this was sprung from it’s springform pan.

After chilling overnight, this was sprung from it’s springform pan.

With some classic fresh ganache poured over the top, “artfully” dripping down the sides.

With some classic fresh ganache poured over the top, “artfully” dripping down the sides.

A lovely peppermint patty :)

A lovely peppermint patty 🙂

 

Ready to have the candle blown out

Ready to have the candle blown out

My slice. :) tasted JUST like a giant peppermint patty, was very delicious.

My slice. 🙂 tasted JUST like a giant peppermint patty, was very delicious.

This is me at 39 weeks! Baby time any day now!

This is me at 39 weeks! Baby time any day now!

There was a period when I was making 2 cakes a week so that I could be ahead for when the baby comes in case I don’t feel like making cakes right when Elseth Jr. arrives. This peppermint cake was the last one I have scheduled before he arrives, but I might shuffle some around because I have a feeling he will be late and not early. Maybe I will have a cake made the day before he arrives or I’ll get a contraction when I stick the next cake in the oven. We will just have to see! 🙂

This entry was posted in Baby, Life, Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #24 Flourless Peppermint Patty Cake

  1. arie12345 says:

    My mother’s gluten intolerant she really hates it’s because she used to eat a lot of baked goods but it makes her sick.

Comment on this post

