#23 Chocolate Apricot Upside-Down Cake

This was another one of those, “I have no idea if this will be any good” cakes. Chocolate and Apricot? That sounded weird to me. I was excited about how easy this one looked though. But what I wasn’t excited about was the cardamom. I didn’t have any cardamom and when I went to the store the cheapest (pre-ground) cardamom was over $14!! In a very normal ~3oz sized spice jar. Ridiculous. And of course, the generic brand didn’t carry any. The only other option was closer to $17, so I went with the $14 bottle. Most expensive cake so far, just because of the cardamom.

I was excited to be able to make this one because apricots JUST arrived at my grocery store. Middle of May might be a bit early for apricots, but they looked good, and I sampled one and it was delicious so I don’t have any shame in making this cake so early in the apricot season.

Ingredients (for the chocolate I only had 2/4 oz bittersweet, so I added 1 oz unsweetened, and 1 oz semi-sweet to even it out.

Ingredients (for the chocolate I only had 2/4 oz bittersweet, so I added 1 oz unsweetened, and 1 oz semi-sweet to even it out.

Forgot to take a before pic, but this was a very sandy brown sugar/butter mixture before it turned into this beautiful carmel after many minutes of cooking and whisking

Forgot to take a before pic, but this was a very sandy brown sugar/butter mixture before it turned into this beautiful
carmel after many minutes of cooking and whisking

Carmel spread into the prepared pan, and very quickly cooling and hardening

Carmel spread into the prepared pan, and very quickly cooling and hardening

After cooling a bit with the apricot quarters arranged

After cooling a bit with the apricot quarters arranged

melting the butter and chocolates

melting the butter and chocolates

Melted

Melted

Sifted dry goods

Sifted dry goods

All whisked together

All whisked together

Here I mis-read the instructions and instead of combining all the wet ingredients together before adding them to the dry, I just put everything in at once. It didn’t do any harm.

Here I mis-read the instructions and instead of combining all the wet ingredients together before adding them to the dry, I just put everything in at once. It didn’t do any harm.

Fully mixed batter

Fully mixed batter

In the pan with apricots and caramel

In the pan with apricots and caramel

Baked. This was my sad attempt to keep the cake from sliding around all over the place while I transported it (still warm) in my car. I suppose it worked!

Baked. This was my sad attempt to keep the cake from sliding around all over the place while I transported it (still warm) in my car. I suppose it worked!

DSCF3505 DSCF3507

DSCF3508We enjoyed this at Vancouver Pizza with some of our community group before The Autumn Film, Hannah Glavor and the Family Band, and Dearborn concert. The food was great, the concert was great, it was an entirely enjoyable evening.

The cake itself turned out beautifully, it had a strong cardamom taste and stirred up conversation about turkish coffee, and some brand of ice cream that makes a cardamom flavor. I’m not sure that’s for me because I don’t think cardamom is my thing. We served it with some whipped cream, which added a pleasant light creamy flavor to the overall taste. It definitely wasn’t a super chocolatey cake, more like a chocolate spice cake. It worked well with the apricots and carmel and tasted like it would be a good dessert at Christmastime because of the spice in it, yet apricots aren’t in season in December. She does say that you can extend the season of this cake by substituting fresh pitted cherries or fresh cranberries though. Cranberries would be a fun one to try closer to Christmastime. I can see that being a good combo and a unique dessert. 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #23 Chocolate Apricot Upside-Down Cake

  1. woinc2 says:

    Reblogged this on Easyplate and commented:
    I will try this recipe this weekend! I am excited about it…

Comment on this post

