Baby Quilt and Nursery for Elseth Jr. Part 2

I finally finished the quilt! My goal was to have it done before the baby arrived, so I met my goal. Getting around to everything took way longer than I anticipated, however.

The back of the quilt: took me way longer than I thought, mostly because I wasn’t following a pattern, just my own imagination.

The back of the quilt: took me way longer than I thought, mostly because I wasn’t following a pattern, just my own imagination.

I used some of the scraps from the quilt to make these cute pin cushions :)

I used some of the scraps from the quilt to make these cute pin cushions 🙂

I followed the tutorials from this site to make the above pin cushions

Art on the wall :)

Art on the wall 🙂

DSCF3326

On the door 🙂

DSCF3325

Books

DSCF3502

Our mobile plays the Four Seasons when it is wound up 🙂

DSCF3319 DSCF3320 DSCF3321 DSCF3322 DSCF3323 DSCF3324 DSCF3329 DSCF3331 DSCF3332 DSCF3334 DSCF3499 DSCF3500 DSCF3501 DSCF3503

Pinned into a “quilt sandwich” and ready to be quilted. It was hanging there for weeks! I wasn’t quite sure what quilt pattern to do, so I practiced a few methods on a scrap my grandma gave me, but I wasn’t satisfied with my free-motion skills, and decided that straight-line diamonds and zig-zags would be best.

Pinned into a “quilt sandwich” and ready to be quilted. It was hanging there for weeks! I wasn’t quite sure what quilt pattern to do, so I practiced a few methods on a scrap my grandma gave me, but I wasn’t satisfied with my free-motion skills, and decided that straight-line diamonds and zig-zags would be best.

Then finally I got around to the binding! Which took me about 5 hours with machine on one side, and hand-stitching on the other side.

Then finally I got around to the binding! Which took me about 5 hours with machine on one side, and hand-stitching on the other side.

IMG_1606

There it is hung on the wall until Elseth Jr. is big enough to use it 🙂

This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Quilt and Nursery for Elseth Jr. Part 2

  1. Andrea says:

    You are so crafty! I love baby’s nursery – can’t wait to see pictures once he arrives!

Comment on this post

