#22 The Classic, and the special carrot cake

This cake is “the classic” birthday cake. Yellow cake with fudge frosting. I myself never had this cake on my birthday because I always wanted an ice cream cake. Mmm. Maybe this is a pregnancy craving because right now I want ice cream.

Cake ingredients

Cake ingredients

Sifting

Sifting

sifted

sifted

ready to cream

ready to cream

creamed

creamed

with some oil

with some oil

with the eggs

with the eggs

dry goods added

dry goods added

buttermilk added

buttermilk added

all ready for the pans!

all ready for the pans!

baked

baked

Frosted with some ganache.

Frosted with some ganache.

DSCF3473 DSCF3474

DSCF3476

Ganache frosting is the easiest to make, and is extremely delicious on so many cakes! I was a little bit sad after I made this cake because there was no community group this week to take this too. I made the tops flat so I was able to try it with what I skimmed off the tops, and I knew it would be delicious. It was also a four-layer cake which was fun to create with my handy cake saw. I ended up giving it to Ian’s co-workers at his office, or as I like to call them, “The Apples”. They all loved it, but unfortunately that meant I couldn’t cut into it and take pretty pictures. I made Ian promise to save me a small slice so that I could taste it in cake form, but we’ll see if that is achieved. Cake goes fast at the office.

On a separate note, this week was the week that I had to make a carrot cake for the nurse’s party at my mom’s school. This one snuck up on me and between forgetting an ingredient for the frosting, having an evening-filled week, and not pre-testing the marzipan carrots, I ended up working on it until midnight last night in preparation for this morning. Having tested that one before, I’m not worried about the results at all, and I do have a few pictures. 🙂

DSCF3477

DSCF3479

To make these carrots I bought some almond paste from Cost Plus World Market, died it orange and followed these instructions to making them look like real carrots. The only difference is that I didn’t have any carrot stems so I used the Italian parsley in my fridge for the leaves.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

