#21 Lemon Queen Cakes with Meringue Frosting

These were fun little cakes to make. I wasn’t sure if my teacups were oven safe, but I figured I would try it with my Anthropologie cups since they are cheaper and easier to replace than my antique-store teacups. Risky business, I know. But I read online that if they are a porcelain type of material, like Corningware, then 350°F should be ok, which is exactly the temperature for this recipe. So I did it, and I’ll have you know they survived. Even beyond the time of the recipe. The recipe said 30-32 minutes but mine needed an extra 12 minutes. Probably because my teacups are so large.

Ingredients: Not too many!

Ingredients: Not too many!

The prepared teacups and ramekins in my roasting pan

The prepared teacups and ramekins in my roasting pan

A very small amount of butter compared to the sugar!

A very small amount of butter compared to the sugar!

“creamed”

“creamed”

After some egg yolks were added

After some egg yolks were added

Lemon juice

Lemon juice

Blended

Blended

Flour

Flour

Milk

Milk

Ready for some whipped up egg whites

Ready for some whipped up egg whites

egg whites

egg whites

Whipping them up real good

Whipping them up real good

Whipped to soft peaks

Whipped to soft peaks

Folding them in the mixture

Folding them in the mixture

Folded and ready to pour

Folded and ready to pour

DSCF3455

In the prepared cups

In the prepared cups

The water on the bottom third of the cups keeps the batter from cooking into a cake-like consistency and makes it into a sort of custard. So you end up with Meringue on top, cake in the middle, and a lemony pudding/custard on the bottom. De-licious.

Baked

Baked

With the Meringue on top, toasted with my kitchen torch and un-toasted

With the Meringue on top, toasted with my kitchen torch and un-toasted

The finished product with a little lemon curl on top

The finished product with a little lemon curl on top

Everyone at community group thought this was delicious, but none of us could finish them off because we also wanted to try Caitlyn’s Italian cookbook orange cake, which was lovely. The theme was Italian, so she also made an awesome GIANT pizza that was the best homemade pizza I’ve ever had, Cam made a pasta salad, and I made homemade lasagna. We were overloaded with Carbs for sure, but it was so wonderfully tasty and excellent company.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

