#20 Blackout Cake

This cake is officially Ian’s favorite. By far, he says. I think I know why. Ian loves chocolate cake and isn’t crazy about buttercream. Not only was this cake chocolate chocolate chocolate, but the “frosting” was actually chocolate pudding and absolutely nothing like a buttercream. I think this will be a hard one to beat. I might have to remake this one for his birthday. 🙂

Three parts to this one: first chocolate shortbread cookies, then a pudding from scratch which took WAY longer than I expected, and lastly the cake. Although I did them in the wrong order because I was low on sugar and had to have my kind friend Tessa bring me some sugar. I ended with the cookies because I knew I could put off putting them on the cake since home group was gonna be at our house that night.

Though I will admit, I’m not sure it was the wisest to choose to do this cake that same day. I woke up having to go to the store right away but wanting instead to lie down and rest more than ANYTHING. I woke up after a more than reasonable amount of sleep only to want to lie down again, and going to the store just confirmed that feeling. This baby wanted mama to rest! So I did, for a bit. Then I had to crack the whip and get cookin’:

√

The only way to chop chocolate. Although I discovered that this won’t be one of the steps I’ll be able to complete with a napping baby around. Louder than a hammer to a wall.

The only way to chop chocolate. Although I discovered that this won’t be one of the steps I’ll be able to complete with a napping baby around. Louder than a hammer to a wall.

So neat and clean!

So neat and clean!

Beginning of pudding from scratch! This part was a beast.

Beginning of pudding from scratch! This part was a beast.

The thickening agent for the pudding mixed with a little cocoa

The thickening agent for the pudding mixed with a little cocoa

Whisked

Whisked

With a little of the heated chocolate cream mixture thrown in.

With a little of the heated chocolate cream mixture thrown in.

Back to the pan and waiting for it to thicken and boil.

Back to the pan and waiting for it to thicken and boil.

Turned out I had to wait a bit longer than I thought. Pretty sure I sat there whisking constantly for about 30 minutes. Oy.

Turned out I had to wait a bit longer than I thought. Pretty sure I sat there whisking constantly for about 30 minutes. Oy.

Finally thickened

Finally thickened

Pressing it through a sieve! An annoying but necessary step. There were some icky chunks in there.

Pressing it through a sieve! An annoying but necessary step. There were some icky chunks in there.

Next I did the cake. I was certain that Ian would approve of this cake at this point. There were no pictures so I wasn’t sure what it would be like, but I knew that he loves chocolate so I couldn’t exactly go wrong with this one unless I burned it or something.

Cake ingredients

Cake ingredients

Cocoa and boiling water

Cocoa and boiling water

whisked

whisked

Now with some sour cream. YUMMY.

Now with some sour cream. YUMMY.

Looking edible.

Looking edible.

Sifted dry goods. Nothing new about this ;)

Sifted dry goods. Nothing new about this 😉

Butter and sugars

Butter and sugars

Creamed butter and sugars

Creamed butter and sugars

Egg added

Egg added

Then some flour

Then some flour

After all the flour and chocolate mixture was added and then spread in the pan! Clearly I forgot about photos in those steps. Forgive me.

After all the flour and chocolate mixture was added and then spread in the pan! Clearly I forgot about photos in those steps. Forgive me.

Baked

Baked

I finally got to making the shortbread cookies and boy were they a pain to deal with. The book says that you can just buy cookies from the store to do the last step with but I figured, eh how hard could shortbread be? The last time I made shortbread it was like a walk in the park. This recipe, not so much. Everything was literally crumbling beneath my touch. This dough didn’t want to stick together, and even after I chilled it for 2 hours, when I went to cut it, many pieces fell apart. But I only needed enough for the sides and top of the cake so I didn’t have to worry about too many cookies turning out perfectly, thank goodness.

Making the cookies! Chocolate shortbread.

Making the cookies! Chocolate shortbread.

Rolled up as nice as I could get them.

Rolled up as nice as I could get them.

After chilling

After chilling

I then preceded to refrigerate them for 2 hours, and when they came out of the fridge they looked much the same so then I sliced them and baked them and they made my whole house smell like brownies. Happy smell. 🙂 Then to the assembly of the cake. 🙂

Stacked and pudding-ed!

Stacked and pudding-ed!

DSCF3430

“Frosted”

“Frosted”

DSCF3436

I think it would have stuck better if I had not chilled the cake before doing the crumbs. But the whole timing of the cake-making made that less practical for me.

I think it would have stuck better if I had not chilled the cake before doing the crumbs. But the whole timing of the cake-making made that less practical for me.

With some chocolate shortbread cookie crumbs sprinkled all over.

With the chocolate shortbread cookie crumbs sprinkled all over.

Next time I make this I might cover the top more with crumbs and throw in some gummy worms for a “dirt and worms” cake. 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #20 Blackout Cake

  1. Pingback: Birthdays and baby George | Sweet Tooth Mama

  2. Pingback: #25 Goober Cake | Sweet Tooth Mama

Comment on this post

