Allie’s birthday and Cake #19: Italian Cream Cake

It was Allie’s birthday last week (on the 19th), so of course I baked cake #19 for my wonderful friend for her birthday. We had the pleasure of spending the weekend with her and her husband and another couple good friends of ours at the beach. We had a blast. Everything worked out perfectly and we all had a grand ‘ole time.

We stayed in a wonderful beach house in Rockaway Beach, OR and went crabbing off the dock at a marina nearby called “Kelly’s Brighton Marina“. Allie had gone crabbing there for a bachelorette party and had the time of her life so we were all excited to join in the fun with her for her birthday, and hopefully catch some crabs.

Allie was crabbing so hard!

Allie was crabbing so hard!

But sadly we got nothing but females and little guys despite 4 different traps. No keepers. :(

But sadly we got nothing but females and little guys despite 4 different traps. No keepers. The most exciting thing we got was this little eel hanging out by our trap!

Kelly himself showing us how to best hold the crabs for the picture. I think my crab knew his fate, and also that he was being held by a pregnant lady because he didn’t move. Kevin, however, ended up with a fighter.

Kelly himself showing us how to best hold the crabs for the picture. I think my crab knew his fate, and also that he was being held by a pregnant lady because he didn’t move. Kevin, however, ended up with a fighter.

Here we all are with our 3 (live) purchased crabs from the marina. We were gonna have crab dinner no matter what! Also, I am amazed that that jacket I’m wearing still fits me. I am getting so big.

Here we all are with our 3 (live) purchased crabs from the marina. We were gonna have crab dinner no matter what!
Also, I am amazed that that jacket I’m wearing still fits me. I am getting so big.

Back to cake. I was in a hurry to make this cake along with some Sweet Vanilla Challah so that we could have french toast for breakfast over the weekend, so I unfortunately didn’t get a chance to document the baking process. Which is a shame because it turned out wonderfully, despite my hurried self.

It is a 3-layer golden cake with coconut, toasted pecans, and whipped cream inside, and between the layers is a chocolate ganache frosting with toasted pecans mixed in. Apparently the traditional version of this cake calls for a cream cheese frosting (which also sounds delicious) but she chooses to vary it a little with the chocolate ganache instead. I had been looking forward to this one for a long time. The book image itself made this cake very appealing to me, not to mention the name and the ingredients. Allie and I have very similar dessert tastes so I figured if this sounded delicious to me, it would probably sound delicious to her. I believe I was right. 🙂

The delicious cake with the blown out candles on top

Cake with the blown out candles on top

DSCF3398 DSCF3397

One slice with Tillamook ice cream

One slice with Tillamook ice cream

What was left of the cake after we each got a piece. I love how messy cakes always look once people have eaten a few slices.

What was left of the cake after we each got a piece. I love how messy cakes always look once people have eaten a few slices.

Though there was much left of this cake, none of it returned home with me. That cake carrier of mine has been the downfall of more than one cake, and while Ian and Kevin were taking it out to the car, somehow it ended up on the ground outside. Sad day. I think I need to throw the thing away and stick with my other cake carriers. But I am grateful that we all got to enjoy the cake before it was demolished at least. 🙂

This entry was posted in Life, Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

