#17 Cassata Cake

I am quite pleased with how this one turned out. It was one of the easier layer cakes I’ve made, looked incredibly delicious, tasted wonderful, and though I messed it up a little, I was able to make it work. Always a happy thing when you can fix, or at least improve, a mistake.

My mistake was in the very beginning. Step #1 is always preparing the pans, and though the page said three 9 by 2-inch cake pans, I had a pregnancy brain moment and only prepared two. I did not notice my mistake until the very end of making this cake.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Notice the Ricotta! A key ingredient in this Italian chiffon cake recipe.

 

Sifted dry ingredients

Sifted dry ingredients

The wet ingredients with some egg yolks, blended

The wet ingredients with some egg yolks, blended

Wet and dry, combined

Wet and dry, combined

Egg whites

Egg whites

Foamy whites

Foamy whites

Soft peaks

Soft peaks

Stiff peaks with the sugar added

Stiff peaks with the sugar added

Batter and egg white mixture folded together.

Batter and egg white mixture folded together.

Prepared and right into the oven

Prepared and right into the oven

Tested and done

Tested and done

 

Time to make some ricotta cream!

Time to make some ricotta cream!

Blended

Blended

Folding in the chocolate shavings

Folding in the chocolate shavings

I don’t know if you remember from the Angel Cake with Chocolate and Orange Freckles, (Which this cake was very similar too, but better, I thought) but chocolate is a pain to make into shavings. At least Ghiradelli chocolate bars are. I think a block of chocolate would be ideal but I don’t keep blocks of bittersweet chocolate around. I did learn from my last attempt and started with the standing grater and didn’t bother with my hand graters. Much less headache this time.

All mixed and time to chill out for an hour

All mixed and time to chill out for an hour

Whipping cream, whipped

Whipping cream, whipped

Ricotta mixture combined with whipping cream

Ricotta mixture combined with whipping cream

Sliced strawberries with a little sugar and orange liquor. Ready to become macerated!

Sliced strawberries with a little sugar and orange liquor. Ready to become macerated!

I learned that macerated is just a fancy way of saying mashed with a little liquid flavoring and sugar. Very much like making a pie, but with less sugar and more mashing.

Macerated

Macerated

Draining the juice

Draining the juice

After spreading some juice on top of the cake, strawberries get plopped on top…

After spreading some juice on top of the cake, strawberries get plopped on top…

…and then pushed to the edges

…and then pushed to the edges

Same with the ricotta cream

Same with the ricotta cream

Repeat!

Repeat!

My last step, though I should’ve had to do this another time…

My last step, though I should’ve had to do this another time…

DSCF3308

 

This is where I realized my mistake. There should have been three cakes, a bit thinner than these. Despite the book saying there should be roughly 10 ounces of batter in each pan, I weighed and poured in about 14.5 ounces into each one, figuring my batter just happened to be off. Silly me. Thankfully I was able to fix it by just topping it with pretty strawberries. 🙂

All topped with fresh sliced organic strawberries. They were perfectly ripe and I enjoyed the extras this morning with breakfast.

All topped with fresh sliced organic strawberries. They were perfectly ripe and I enjoyed the extras this morning with breakfast.

DSCF3311

 

The first slice

The first slice

DSCF3313

I ate this piece and very much enjoyed it.

I ate this piece and very much enjoyed it.

This cake was very much a success. There was a normal number of people at Community Group, and not a single slice was left. That always makes me so happy. 🙂 Everyone that had tried the angel cake with chocolate and orange freckles agreed that this one was similar in taste. I prefer this cake because of the strawberries, but they were both fantastic.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.