#16 German Chocolate Roll

I had pretty high expectations with this one. My first cake of the year was the Butterscotch Cream Roll-up which made me comfortable with the idea of a roll cake, because that one wasn’t too hard. My second cake (not from Vintage Cakes cookbook) was an extremely successful and delicious German Chocolate Cake, which I made for my Grandpa’s birthday. This roll cake turned out equally delicious (in a different way), but was more difficult than I expected and didn’t quite get the “pretty” factor like I always hope for. All the same it was one of those cakes that didn’t allow for any leftovers because everyone wanted it and enjoyed it. 🙂

It is also gluten-free, for those of you who have an allergy or sensitivity to gluten, or are currently observing the Passover dietary restrictions.  There is another flourless cake in this book that I’ll be making towards the end of May (at least that’s the plan).

Filling ingredients

Filling ingredients

creamy egg yolk mixture, waiting for it to cook up

creamy egg yolk mixture, waiting for it to cook up

letting the butter melt into it

letting the butter melt into it

just about ready

just about ready

with vanilla, ready to chill in the fridge for a bit

with vanilla, ready to chill in the fridge for a bit

Prepared pan. Not quite the right size pan, but close enough, and I think next time I need to cut the paper to fit the pan rather than letting it stick up the sides like that.

Prepared pan. Not quite the right size pan, but close enough, and I think next time I need to cut the paper to fit the pan rather than letting it stick up the sides like that.

Cake ingredients

Cake ingredients

The ganache topping I made ahead (pictured above, top left) because you have to let it sit for 2-3 hours before it gets to a spreading consistency. I didn’t document it because I’ve made it a couple times before.

Egg whites

Egg whites

melting some chocolate/coffee/butter

melting some chocolate/coffee/butter

melted

melted

“cooling slightly”

“cooling slightly”

egg whites whipped into firm (but not stiff) peaks

egg whites whipped into firm (but not stiff) peaks

folding some whites into the chocolate mix to lighten it up.

folding some whites into the chocolate mix to lighten it up.

lightened

lightened

into the rest of the egg whites for the last step before baking

into the rest of the egg whites for the last step before baking

in the pan

in the pan

coconut and pecans added to the chilled filling mix

coconut and pecans added to the chilled filling mix

DSCF3268

baked

baked

DSCF3270

Baked cake and serving tray all prepared.

Baked cake and serving tray all prepared.

With the filling

With the filling

After many frustrations with the rolling process, I got this thing rolled.

After many frustrations with the rolling process, I got this thing rolled.

though it didn’t look too pretty

though it didn’t look too pretty

The book says to grease it with “Baking Spray” which contains flour, and I never have that stuff on hand so I just used butter. That kept it gluten-free but I think the flour in the spray helps prevent the cake from sticking to the parchment too much, which is what gave me so much headache in the rolling process. Next time I would use the baking spray, but if making gluten-free I would use plain vegetable spray instead and see if that makes a difference.

In the book she says she likes to leave the spiral exposed so you can see the prettiness, but mine didn't turn out pretty so I covered it up, big time.

In the book she says she likes to leave the spiral exposed so you can see the prettiness, but mine didn’t turn out pretty so I covered it up, big time.

Looking like  a chocolate log, ready to be devoured for Easter dinner. :)

Looking like a chocolate log, ready to be devoured for Easter dinner, and it very much was. 🙂

I got that serving tray at a Goodwill in Seattle when I lived up there. It has come in handy so many times! I wouldn’t have been able to predict how useful a rectangle tray would be, though it made transporting the cake a bit more complicated as I had to use the toothpick and cling wrap (which never seems to cling) method.

For those of you who have been wondering what I do with all these cakes I make….

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

