#14 Rhubarb Pudding Cake

When I made the White chocolate rhubarb downside-up cake, my friend Tara was visiting with me in the kitchen while our handyman did some work on our kitchen ceiling that needed to be done. The irony is that the very same day I made this cake, he was back continuing his work on the ceiling, and Tara was visiting me again! Something about rhubarb, it’s like it brings people together. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I had greater expectations for this cake than my initial expectations for the last rhubarb cake, and they were happily met. It was a bit easier to make, no fussy carmel, no flipping the pan upside-down. I didn’t even have to take the cake out of the pan! I guess that is the beauty of pudding cakes. And to top it off, it was quite delicious.

I enjoyed this one both as a dessert with strawberry ice cream (vanilla would have been equally good I think), and as a breakfast-like dish. It is definitely best served warm, either way. ๐Ÿ™‚

Pan all greased

Pan all greased

Ingredients

Ingredients

Rhubarb, sugar, water, and vanilla bean, ready to make the compote

Rhubarb, sugar, water, and vanilla bean, ready to make the compote

All mixed in

All mixed in

Butter and sugar

Butter and sugar

dry ingredients

dry ingredients

creamed and egged

creamed and egged

with some sour cream and flour

with some sour cream and flour

ready for the pan

ready for the pan

Spread into the pan, it was almost stiff like coffee cake batter

Spread into the pan, it was almost stiff like coffee cake batter

Batter with the compote on top

Batter with the compote on top

DSCF3206

Baked and ready to eat!

This one was also a big hit at our Bible study, it turns out many of the people there are big rhubarb fans. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had never had pudding cake before but that is exactly how I would describe it. It wasn’t fluffy at all like regular cake ought to be, it was almost the consistency of a pound cake, but more moist and reminded me of bread pudding. Delicious all the same. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have yet to find a dud in this book, I am quite happy about that. ๐Ÿ˜€

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #14 Rhubarb Pudding Cake

  1. Pingback: #45 Shinny Cake | Sweet Tooth Mama

Comment on this post

