#13 Texas Sheet Cake

For this cake I had to buy a new pan. I have never made a sheet cake before and am excited to add this to my repertoire of cakes now that I have this new pan. I am especially excited about this cake, it is the easiest of all so far; only took about 40 minutes to make including bake-time! I will be looking to this recipe in the future next time I need a quick and large dessert.

Texas Sheet Cake is basically just chocolate sheet cake with chocolate fudgey frosting and some toasted nuts on top. Almost like eating a cakey brownie, aka delicious. In fact many of the people who tried it thought it was a brownie.

Here it is:

Ingredients

Ingredients

My new pan, all greased up.

My new pan, all greased up.

Melting the butter

Melting the butter

All melted

All melted

Cocoa added

Cocoa added

cocoa mixed in

cocoa mixed in

boil that stuff up!

boil that stuff up!

sift

sift

sifted

sifted

Chocolate stuff plus sifted stuff, aka egg-free and pregnant safe :D

Chocolate stuff plus sifted stuff, aka egg-free and pregnant safe 😀

eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla

eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla

all mixed and spread into the pan

all mixed and spread into the pan

Toasted pecans (used the toaster oven since the oven was in use). So far that is the most handy thing I’ve used the toaster oven for!

Toasted pecans (used the toaster oven since the oven was in use). So far that is the most handy thing I’ve used the toaster oven for!

Making the frosting, here it’s just cocoa, more melted butter, and milk.

Making the frosting, here it’s just cocoa, more melted butter, and milk.

with all the sugary goodness added to it and thickened up very nicely

with all the sugary goodness added to it and thickened up very nicely

Assembly complete. Ready to serve up brownie style :)

Assembly complete. Ready to serve up brownie style 🙂

I brought home a few “Dots” from St. Cupcake cupcake bakery: Coconut Cream, Salted Carmel, and Vanilla Vanilla Buttercream. Along with those I brought a piece of this cake for the hubby to try. He said his favorite was the cake by far. 😀 Figures, since it’s chocolate chocolate (his favorite). But it still gave me warm fuzzies to hear him say that. 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

