#12 The Pink Cake

This cake ranks very highly. The cake itself was incredibly moist and rich, and the frosting was a delicious buttercream with raspberry purée. Chocolate and raspberry are one of my favorite combos, so this one was bound to be a winner as long as it turned out ok.

When I started making this cake I noticed the recipe called for three 8-inch pans. I have three of both 8-inch and 9-inch so that wasn’t a big deal for me. However, when the time came for me to grease the pans, I realize I could only find my 9-inchers. I didn’t want to use them because I knew the cakes would turn out thinner and I was nervous about adjusting the cook time as well. When I try out a new recipe (like all of these cake recipes) it is important to me to follow it EXACTLY as the recipe says, to the best of my ability. I did some running around  that afternoon looking in various places where I thought I may have left the cake pans (places outside of my own home). No luck. So I decided I better just use the 9-inch pans after all.

Ingredients

Ingredients

image from the book

image from the book

chopped the chocolate in the foil this time instead of placing it in a ziploc. :)

chopped the chocolate in the foil this time instead of placing it in a ziploc. 🙂

Chopped chocolate

Chopped chocolate

Hot water added to the chocolate to melt it (much like making ganache)

Hot water added to the chocolate to melt it (much like making ganache)

whisked up

whisked up

sour cream

sour cream

looked like chocolate pudding!

looked like chocolate pudding!

after adding cocoa powder, which I had forgotten to add the first time! Glad I noticed the cocoa powder hadn’t been used yet.

after adding cocoa powder, which I had forgotten to add the first time! Glad I noticed the cocoa powder hadn’t been used yet.

sifted ingredients

sifted ingredients

butter and sugar

butter and sugar

creamed

creamed

with eggs

with eggs

with a little flour mixture

with a little flour mixture

flour plus liquid cocoa mixture

flour plus liquid cocoa mixture

Pan-ready

Pan-ready

in the pans

in the pans

DSCF3156

out of the oven

out of the oven

You can’t tell from the above photo, but I had to severely level all three cakes because of these 9-inch pans. I made the mistake of forcing them all into the oven and a couple of them got tilted in such a way that they had a steady slope, making them very thin where the slope began. I suppose this is why she says to use 8-inch pans, 9-inch pans don’t fit 3 in a standard oven! Goodness.

DSCF3158 DSCF3159 DSCF3160

I missed a few steps for the frosting process, but the first image is heating egg whites and sugar til they reach a certain temperature before you whip them up. I think that is so that you’re not consuming raw egg in your frosting.
The second is the whipped up whites, and what happened next is I added a bazillion little pieces of butter one at a time while the mixer was running, then once that got all mixed up well I added the raspberry purée and vanilla. It looked incredibly pink, darker than the cover photo.

DSCF3161 DSCF3162

DSCF3164

All cut into. It cut PERFECTLY.

All cut into. It cut PERFECTLY.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #12 The Pink Cake

  1. Pingback: #46 Black & White Cake and Edible Babies | Sweet Tooth Mama

Comment on this post

