#11 Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

I believe I mentioned in my last carrot cake post that I am testing recipes for a party at my mom’s work. This last week my goal was to make two cakes (trying to get a bit ahead in preparation for Elseth Jr.) and so after the white chocolate rhubarb cake I decided I should test out another carrot cake recipe. This one I made from my Vintage Cakes book.
The last recipe I found on Allrecipes.com, with over 3,000 ratings and a total of 4.5 stars. That is a seriously good rating, and it did turn out delicious. However, this one only recommended itself from being in my Vintage Cakes recipe book and I believe it far outshines the best one on Allrecipes. If you’re curious about such a statement (especially if you love carrot cake), you will just have to buy the book and try it for yourself. 🙂

Ingredients. She suggests using chopped walnuts and dried currants but adds that you are free to substitute whatever you please. So I used chopped walnuts and shredded coconut. :)

Ingredients. She suggests using chopped walnuts and dried currants but adds that you are free to substitute whatever you please. So I used chopped walnuts and shredded coconut. 🙂

Sifted dry ingredients

Sifted dry ingredients

Oil and sugars

Oil and sugars

This is what it looks like when a recipe says your oil/sugar mixture is supposed to look like sand.

This is what it looks like when a recipe says your oil/sugar mixture is supposed to look like sand.

sand and eggs :)

sand and eggs 🙂

flour…

flour…

…then buttermilk

…then buttermilk

Folding in the chunky goodness

Folding in the chunky goodness

Right into the oven

Right into the oven

Looking lovely

Looking lovely

Out of the pan

Out of the pan

Frosted and ready to serve

Frosted and ready to serve

There’s me and baby, cutting the cake :)

There’s me and baby, cutting the cake 🙂

For quite a few of these layer cakes she has you only frost the tops of the cake. I will say it makes it a lot easier in the frosting stage, but is slightly less satisfying aesthetically. Definitely not an ugly look, just less decorated :)

For quite a few of these layer cakes she has you only frost the tops of the cake. I will say it makes it a lot easier in the frosting stage, but is slightly less satisfying aesthetically. Definitely not an ugly look, just less decorated 🙂

swirlies
swirlies

At Right about this moment, there was a sudden emergency. I happened to look up and noticed a fire in the kitchen! I glanced up and said, “Fire!” just as the smoke alarm was going off. It took us all a moment to react properly, but there were huge flames coming out of their toaster in the kitchen, right underneath their cabinets! We learned that one should not put matzah in the toaster. Just in case you were about to try that out, think again – it was the cause of this crazy fire experience. We are glad the smoke alarm works, and that we were all present to do something about it. It took quite a bit to put those flames out, and thankfully there were 4 men in the room to attend to this fire, rather than a pregnant lady and a future grandma with her arm in a sling. Once it was all taken care of we opened all the windows to let the smoke out and resumed the cake-cutting, which was a good reward for the hard work of putting out a fire 🙂
I should mention that only the toaster is, well, toast. The cabinets are fine although there might be a black spot beneath one of them, but no one was harmed.

Insides

Insides

It was so airy and flavorful, I think it might be the best carrot cake I’ve ever tasted! I certainly liked it better than the Allrecipes one, and that one was very delicious indeed. We shall see what my mom’s classroom thinks, they liked the opposite of what Ian and I preferred of the last cake-frosting combo we gave them. But this is definitely one of my favorites so far. 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #11 Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. I can’t wait to make this! Did you manage to find unsweetened coconut? I love the idea of putting it in a cake, but I can only find sweetened here, even at Trader Joe’s. Either way, it sounds amazing!

    By the way, a friend and I made red velvet cupcakes with a “boiled frosting” that tastes like marshmallow! I’ll blog about it. I thought of you the whole time! We wished you’d been there, because our cupcakes fell and stuck to our cupcake tin liners. But they tasted delicious!

    • No, I used sweetened coconut. It was amazing. 🙂
      Oh wow! That sounds adventurous! You should definitely blog about it 🙂 one of my early posts links to a yummy red velvet cake recipe and it is easy to use for cupcakes! I made green velvet cupcakes for St Patty’s last year with it 🙂

Comment on this post

