#10 White Chocolate Rhubarb Downside-Up Cake: a delicious screw-up

Weighing the sliced rhubarb and getting the carmel ingredients ready (step 1)

Weighing the sliced rhubarb and getting the carmel ingredients ready (step 1)

Starting the carmel. This is always a scary process. Carmel gets so sticky and is hard to get just the right consistency.

Starting the carmel. This is always a scary process. Carmel gets so sticky and is hard to get just the right consistency.

bubbling up on medium-high heat

bubbling up on medium-high heat

covering for a couple minutes (no stirring)

covering for a couple minutes (no stirring)

After it got an amber color, and I swirled it around, I added cubed pieces of butter and swished them in the hot pan to get it to melt and blend.

After it got an amber color, and I swirled it around, I added cubed pieces of butter and swished them in the hot pan to get it to melt and blend.

Poured into the prepped pan and firming up for the next step.

Poured into the prepped pan and firming up for the next step.

Placing the rhubarb

Placing the rhubarb

Ingredients (Minus the rhubarb and carmel ingredients)

Ingredients (Minus the rhubarb and carmel ingredients)

Chopping the white chocolate in a plastic Ziploc with a meat mallet is my favorite method.

Chopping the white chocolate in a plastic Ziploc with a meat mallet is my favorite method.

Adding boiling water to the chocolate to melt it

Adding boiling water to the chocolate to melt it

Stirring together the sifted dry ingredients. This is usually done with a whisk, but this time in the mixer and sugar was included in the sifting process.

Stirring together the sifted dry ingredients. This is usually done with a whisk, but this time in the mixer and sugar was included in the sifting process.

Blended with the butter

Blended with the butter

after the buttermilk and eggs

after the buttermilk and eggs

one good final stir by hand

one good final stir by hand

Smoothed into the pan. Almost over-flowing – yikes!

Smoothed into the pan. Almost over-flowing – yikes!

A little bit of a muffin top going on there. In hindsight, I think I should’ve cut around the inside of the pan to separate the muffin-top part from the rest of the cake. (just for show, nothing to do with taste)

A little bit of a muffin top going on there. In hindsight, I think I should’ve cut around the inside of the pan to separate the muffin-top part from the rest of the cake. (just for show, nothing to do with taste)

The instructions specifically said to turn the pan onto a plate and let it sit there with the pan covering it while it continues to cool. Completely absentmindedly, I disobeyed this command and a large chunk of it separated from the rest of the cake :(

The instructions specifically said to turn the pan onto a plate and let it sit there with the pan covering it while it continues to cool. Completely absentmindedly, I disobeyed this command and a large chunk of it separated from the rest of the cake 😦

I tried fixing it by cutting the large chunk out, which sort of worked, but it looked messy.

I tried fixing it by cutting the large chunk out, which sort of worked, but it looked messy.

 

DSCF3086This gave my friend Tara (who was visiting me while I made this one) and I an opportunity to taste-test the cake. The consistency was very unique. It was very much like a cross between a muffin and a warm cobbler. And because of the rhubarb it had a little tangy flavor to it. I was a little sad because I like to present whole and complete cakes when they are initially served, and I had planned on bringing this one to community group and it looked like I had uncontrollably eaten over a quarter of it. Although if anyone suspected that, I’m sure they gave me grace since I’m with child. 😉

The recipe said this is best served with Strawberry ice cream and since I wasn’t super excited about the taste of it on it’s own, I decided I better bring ice cream to group. I did, and my friend Allie happened to bring a bowl of sliced strawberries as well. We all grouped those three things together and though a chunk of it was missing from the beginning, this is the first cake that has been completely devoured at community group. Many people said it was one their favorites so far, including my husband who generally prefers chocolate cake. I think maybe it helped that I kept *almost* talking it down, saying it was an odd consistency, not much like a regular cake, sort of breakfasty, etc. But taste buds overrule all such comments and a clean plate at the end of the night speaks better than any words.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #10 White Chocolate Rhubarb Downside-Up Cake: a delicious screw-up

  1. Pingback: #14 Rhubarb Pudding Cake | Sweet Tooth Mama

  2. Pingback: #11 Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting | Sweet Tooth Mama

  3. I just saw rhubarb for the first time of the year the other day! Now I know what to do with it! Maybe I’ll bring this cake to my small group! 🙂

Comment on this post

