Baby Quilt for Elseth Jr. Part #1

As I mentioned before, my grandma is an amazing quilter. Ian and I were at her house a few months ago (before the gender reveal of Elseth Jr) and I noticed a small stack of quilting magazines in front of me on her coffee table when it struck me; I should ask my grandma to teach me to make a quilt! So I asked her and she was delighted to be of service.

I wanted to wait at least until we knew whether it was a boy or girl, so that I could choose a nursery theme and design my quilt along with that. We ended up choosing a Jungle Animal theme, mostly because it’s fun, and we like the variety of colors it provides. So when grandma and I went to look at pattern books we found one that perfectly matched the jungle theme. A baby elephant:

DSCF3102

Isn’t it cute? I am not at all a fan of the colors they chose for the pattern, but I love the design. So then grandma and I went through her supply of fabric and picked out a bunch that we thought would be good for the blanket as well as some fabric for appliqué wall decor animals:

DSCF3106

This is just a hint of all the fabric she has in her store. I am one lucky granddaughter 🙂
And here is the Jungle wall art pattern:

DSCF3105 DSCF3104

From this book:

DSCF3103

I was extremely anxious to get started but there were some particular types of fabric that I wanted to pick up at a fabric store so I stumbled into Fiddlesticks Quilt Shop and found the perfect colors and designs of fabric for what I was looking for. This is the combination of fabrics from my grandma and the quilting shop:

DSCF3107

Below are all the triangle pieces that I needed for the quilt. It was fun piecing it all together. All the measuring and cutting was one evening, piecing the triangles another, and assembling all the pieces took me a whole day. From about 11:00am-6:00pm! I was particularly excited about finishing this next part.

DSCF3087

 

From there I was on a roll and couldn’t stop until it was all finished.

DSCF3089 DSCF3098 DSCF3097 DSCF3096 DSCF3099 DSCF3100

Above you can see one of my mistakes. Since it is my first quilt and just possibly might be full of holes and covered in drool by the end of it’s life, I am perfectly ok with this mess-up. There is a blue rectangle (centered) that looks a little bit lighter than the other blue pieces, and that is because it is the wrong side of the fabric, face-up. Oopsie! But I did it also without knowing it in the corresponding corner, so at least I was consistent. 🙂

This whole portion was called piecing. I learned that the act of sewing the front (and filler, called batting) to the back is the part that is called quilting. Or at least that’s how I understood it. So that (I think) will be the next step. I am excited to learn about this more. 🙂

Here I am at 28 weeks! Officially 3rd trimester now, Elseth Jr. is very active, I can feel and see kicks throughout the day, particularly in the morning while still in bed, the evening, and while I’m eating. I love feeling those baby kicks. 🙂 In fact, he’s kicking right now!

DSCF3094

This entry was posted in Baby, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Quilt for Elseth Jr. Part #1

  1. Debbie says:

    You look amazing! And that quilt looks beautiful, great job!

Comment on this post

