#9 Lemon Almond Streamliner Cake

I have gotten a little behind in blogging, but mostly because my days have been extra-filled with baking and crafting. Last week I made two cakes. The Chocolate Macaroon Cake and this one for Daniel’s birthday called the “Lemon Almond Streamliner Cake”. The book image of the cake makes it look almost like cheesecake, but there’s no cream cheese so I knew it would be a different texture than that.

That same week I also visited my grandma so she could help me begin learning to make a quilt. She is a quilting pro. She has been doing it for years and she has an abundance of gorgeous quilts all over her house, not to mention an endless number at other peoples’ houses.
But I will dedicate a post just to the quilting adventure. For now, cake. 🙂

Ingredients

Ingredients

I found these Meyer Lemons at Fred’s and they smelled heavenly. It made me think of the times when I visited my great-grandmother in Napa, CA who had a lemon tree. I love nostalgic smells like that :)

I found these Meyer Lemons at Fred’s and they smelled heavenly. It made me think of the times when I visited my great-grandmother in Napa, CA who had a lemon tree. I love nostalgic smells like that 🙂

Custard ingredients

Custard ingredients

DSCF3020 DSCF3021

This part took forever it seemed. But oh so worth the wait.

This part took forever it seemed. But oh so worth the wait.

Finally thickened and bubbling

Finally thickened and bubbling

DSCF3025

Ready to set in the fridge and firm up.

Ready to set in the fridge and firm up.

Sometime’s it is best to go by weight rather than measurement.

Sometime’s it is best to go by weight rather than measurement.

And sometimes it is just easier to measure that way.

And sometimes it is just easier to measure that way.

Creaming!

Creaming!

After creaming and adding eggs

After creaming and adding eggs

After adding milk and flour

After adding milk and flour

All smoothed out

All smoothed out

Beautiful

Beautiful

DSCF3041

Complete!

Complete!

The inside

The inside

 

Happy 18th to Daniel :)

Happy 18th to Daniel 🙂

I was a little nervous about this one because one of the main ingredients in the cake is almond paste (or marzipan) and I’m not a big fan of that flavor. However, it didn’t detract from this cake, that’s for sure. It was light and delicate, and the lemony custard was extremely delicious and a perfect accompaniment to this cake.

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this post

