#8 Pearl’s Chocolate Macaroon Cake

I have a few things to say before I get into this cake. I will point out that macaroons are not the same thing as macarons. Notice the difference in spelling (one “o” vs. two). This confusion drives me nuts (probably more than it should). MacarOOns are chewy sweet coconut balls (sometimes with chocolate) made with egg whites. They usually look all spiky from the coconut poking out.

coconut_apricot_macaroons

MacarOns are a French sandwich cookie, also made with egg whites, but no coconut, and they are known for having many colors and a variety of flavors. They are made by piping the batter onto a pan to form a small circle shape and then baked and once cooled are sandwiched together with a sweet creamy filling.

images

Do these look like the same thing to you? I didn’t think so. Ok rant over.

Now, onto the cake. This cake is a chocolate macaroon cake, so given the name, I shouldn’t have to tell you that there is chewy coconut inside. 😉 I was particularly excited about this cake not only because I enjoy chocolate and coconut together, but because the author tells us that she got this from a baker friend whose Grandmother Pearl originally had the recipe. This is extra fun info for me because my mother-in-law’s grandmother’s name was Pearl, so I like to think that one of her cousins is a baker and gave Julie this recipe from Grammy Pearl. I’m sure that’s not the case but it is more fun to think that it is. 🙂

This time I had my brother-in-law Daniel to help document my baking progress. He and Kristina came over and hung out with me after doing me a HUGE favor of transporting new furniture I bought! Not to mention Daniel helped me cut up and load a bunch of giant-sized boxes into our recycling. More on that later – to cake!

Ingredients

Ingredients

About to whip up some meringue!

About to whip up some meringue!

Everything measured out

Everything measured out

Mixing up the meringue/coconut mixture

DSCF2907 DSCF2908 DSCF2909

DSCF2913


Coffee, cocoa, and sour cream. It looked good enough to drink. 🙂

DSCF2915 DSCF2916 DSCF2917

Sugar, butter, eggs, etc.

Sugar, butter, eggs, etc.

Sugar, butter, eggs, etc.

DSCF2926 DSCF2929

Coffee chocolate added

DSCF2937

Flour
DSCF2941 DSCF2942

Meringue mixed in:

DSCF2951 DSCF2958 DSCF2960

Into the pan part 1
DSCF2964
Adding the macaroony

DSCF2965 DSCF2966 DSCF2968 DSCF2975
Keeping it from the edges/middle part was difficult.

Into the pan part 2

DSCF2978

Artistic spilling 😉
DSCF2980
Tested and done! Looking quite edible.

Tested and done! Looking quite edible.

Tested and done! Looking quite edible.

The magic of Ganache:
DSCF2991 DSCF2992 DSCF2993 DSCF2994 DSCF2995 DSCF2998

The finished product:

DSCF3002 DSCF3001
DSCF3003

I think next time I would put less batter in initially so that the macaroon part is more central in the cake, but it didn’t affect the delicious taste. The ganache glaze really made the whole cake, it was moist and full, probably the hubby’s favorite so far and he does love chocolate cake more than any other.

YUM!

DSCF3007 DSCF3010

This entry was posted in Recipes, Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #8 Pearl’s Chocolate Macaroon Cake

  1. Dan Mac says:

    Forgive me–are the recipes here anywhere? for the cake and the ganache… Thanks.

    • All of my numbered cakes are from a cookbook called “Vintage Cakes” by Julia Richardson. I am going through the entire cookbook in a year. I explain why I don’t give out the recipes here in my first cake posting. The cookbook is very worthwhile, I have yet to find a cake that has been a disappointment to my (and many others’) taste buds, and there is also an abundance of picture worthy cakes. I highly recommend purchasing this cookbook even if you just want one recipe. For ganache it’s a 1-1 ratio of cream and semi-sweet chocolate (chips or chopped). Heat the cream, pour over the chocolate and let sit covered for 5 minutes to trap the heat. Then slowly whisk it all together and use immediately for a glaze, or let it sit for a couple hours for a frosting. There are quite a few varieties in the book as well, like carmel ganache, and fudgy ganache.

Comment on this post

