#6 Red Velvet Cake with Mascarpone Cream Cheese Frosting

When I first looked at this cake recipe I was a little bored with the idea since I already found a red velvet cake that I love, which also has a mascarpone cream cheese frosting. But since the point is to do ALL the cakes in the book (and red velvet is one of my favorites), I decided to add it to the queue. It is very fitting for this week since Thursday is St. Valentine’s Day. I bet you think I planned that don’t you? Well, I did.

When I got around to looking at the recipe, I realized that it was actually quite different from the one I’ve done before, so that made me very curious. Then I looked at the frosting recipe which was also very different from the one I had made.

I think I have a new go-to recipe. This is just the velvetiest cake I’ve ever had and the frosting goes perfectly with it. Incredible. I swear every cake so far has turned out exactly as you would want it to. These recipes are so great.

DSCF2818

Measured out the dry goods this time. This recipe calls for more cocoa and less red dye than my previous red velvet go-to cake. Which makes this one seem more like Devil’s Food cake dyed red (what it is supposed to be).

Measured out the dry goods this time. This recipe calls for more cocoa and less red dye than my previous red velvet go-to cake. Which makes this one seem more like Devil’s Food cake dyed red (what it is supposed to be).

Sifting

Sifting

Sifted

Sifted

Whisked

Whisked

Red dye with vanilla and Canola oil! I didn’t think these would blend very well but it was evenly blended once I gave it a stir.

Red dye with vanilla and Canola oil! I didn’t think these would blend very well but it was evenly blended once I gave it a stir.

Creaming

Creaming

In case you were wondering, this is what “light and fluffy” butter-sugar looks like.

In case you were wondering, this is what “light and fluffy” butter-sugar looks like.

Plus eggs and red oil mixture!

Plus eggs and red oil mixture!

Adding the cocoa

Adding the cocoa

Cocoa added

Cocoa added

Buttermilk

Buttermilk

One final stir

One final stir

Into the pans, all smoothed out

Into the pans, all smoothed out

Baked, and oh so lovely looking!

Baked, and oh so lovely looking!

Frosting ingredients.

Frosting ingredients.

Cream cheese

Cream cheese

Notice how many photos I have with my kitchen aid bowl? I truly don’t think I would enjoy baking half so much if I didn’t have a KitchenAid. It makes baking so much more enjoyable and easy

Everything else thrown in, looking a little lumpy.

Everything else thrown in, looking a little lumpy.

Mixing it up a bit more

Mixing it up a bit more

What Mascarpone Cream Cheese frosting is supposed to look like

What Mascarpone Cream Cheese frosting is supposed to look like

Since I made this exact frosting when I made that carrot cake on Saturday, I decided to combine the leftovers to ensure I had enough to go over the entire cake. The recipe says that it only fills and tops the cake and there isn’t enough for the sides so you’re not supposed to frost the sides. I rebelled. I like red velvet cake frosted all the way. Although I admit I haven’t had it any other way…

Cake tops sliced and ready to be frosted. The way it cracked almost makes it look like two thin cakes here. I promise it is just one.

Cake tops sliced and ready to be frosted. The way it cracked almost makes it look like two thin cakes here. I promise it is just one.

 

Cake #1 frosted. I don't usually frost the sides right away, but I couldn't think of a reason not to, so I went for it. I learned that the reason you don't frost the sides before adding the layers is because the next layer will make your sides all crummy. Oh well. I fixed it and lesson learned.

Cake #1 frosted. I don’t usually frost the sides right away, but I couldn’t think of a reason not to, so I went for it. I learned that the reason you don’t frost the sides before adding the layers is because the next layer will make your sides all crummy. Oh well. I fixed it and lesson learned.

DSCF2849

 

Wholly frosted and making my mouth water.

Wholly frosted and making my mouth water.

Image

IMG_1427

The cake cut into. Perfect for a Valentine’s Day treat. So far the favorite! I can’t imagine future cakes will be much better because red velvet it just the best (Forgot my nice camera for this one, so this is courtesy of my iPhone 4S). And those chocolate dipped Macaroons on that plate to the right of the cake – DELICIOUS. Caitlin made them and I think I will need to get the recipe from her.

I have to show off the sweet flowers my husband got for me. They came from Flowers Washougal, who always has the most beautiful arrangements. We used them for flowers both at my wedding and my sister-in-law’s wedding.

 

Flowers, card, and chocolates from my darling Ian. I have the most wonderful lover <3

Flowers, card, and chocolates from my darling Ian. I have the most wonderful lover ❤

Flowers from Baby Elseth Jr! My husband is so sweet and thoughtful.

Flowers from Baby Elseth Jr! My husband is so sweet and thoughtful.

Lovely butterfly detail

Lovely butterfly detail

Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

This entry was posted in Life, Recipes, Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #6 Red Velvet Cake with Mascarpone Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Wendy says:

    I would like to try your cake and frosting (#6 Red Velvet Cake), however, you do not give out the recipe for the cake nor the mascarapone frosting.You mention that it is your go to recipe now, so I am not wanting to try just any old recipe. Do you share your recipes? If so, I would love to have it. Thanks for your time. Wendy

    • All of my numbered cakes are from a cookbook called “Vintage Cakes” by Julia Richardson. I am going through the entire cookbook in a year. I explain why I don’t give out the recipes here in my first cake posting. The cookbook is very worthwhile, I have yet to find a cake that has been a disappointment to my (and many others’) taste buds, and there is also an abundance of picture worthy cakes. I highly recommend purchasing this cookbook even if you just want the red velvet recipe. If you just want a delicious red velvet cake, this one made me crazy for red velvet before I discovered “Vintage Cakes”. 🙂

      • Wendy says:

        Thanks very much for replying. I didn’t realize that you were using a cookbook that you couldn’t share from.I understand that now. Also thanks for the hint of another red velvet recipe.

Comment on this post

