#4 Jam Cake with Carmel Chocolate Ganache

Cake number four! 1 month of cake-baking officially over, 11 more to go. So far I’m neither tired of it nor overwhelmed. A good sign. 🙂 This cake is probably guilty for making my day around it the most chaotic of any of the cakes thus far, but it all worked out and also ended up enabling me to have tea and watch Downton Abbey with my dear and lovely friend Allie.

I knew at once that for the jam in this cake I wanted to use Kristina’s homemade jam. Homemade jam is always better than store bought, especially when it comes to her raspberry jam. Amazing. Ian’s favorite, my favorite, it’d probably be your favorite if you tried it. She has a few jars left from when she did all her jamming in the summer and I requested one from her. There were quite a few other ingredients I needed as well and made sure I had them the day before I baked the cake. Then upon the morning of cake-baking day, I was reading through the recipe just before heading out the door to take Ian to work and I realized I needed 1.5 cups jam and I only had a small jar that amounted to 3/4 cup. Exactly half of what I needed! So I had to drive out to Elseth Mountain to get another jar of jam before beginning my cake, thus delaying the commencement of baking by an hour. That kind of thing seemed to keep happening with this cake, but it all worked out, so I can’t complain 🙂

For this cake I was required to make the frosting ahead of time because it has to sit at room temperature for about 3 hours before it reaches a spreadable consistency. But it is so worth it. Best spreadability I’ve seen for ganache and it tasted heavenly.

Ingredients

Ingredients

In the raw

In the raw

Boiling sugar, getting it to turn into carmel

Boiling sugar, getting it to turn into carmel

After adding the dairy

After adding the dairy

Combining the creamy carmel with the chocolate

Combining the creamy carmel with the chocolate

Ganache beauty

Ganache beauty

When making cakes, tea is required.

DSCF2702

Also, thought I’d show you all one of the lovely birthday presents from my darling husband. He knows how much I love Anthropologie, and bought me 4 different “spice jars” with a chalk board label so I put one of them in the kitchen:

DSCF2691

Now for the jam cake. By the time I was ready to make this, I only had about an hour until I had to leave somewhere, so I had to whip this batter into shape in 30 minutes, because it cooks for about 30 as well.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Sifted dry, plus my happy tea pot in the background

Sifted dry, plus my happy tea pot in the background

Buttermilk and jam

Buttermilk and jam

Prepped pans

Prepped pans

To see how to perfectly prep pans, click here.

Creamed butter-sugar

Creamed butter-sugar

Adding the flour and jam mixtures

Adding the flour and jam mixtures

Oven-ready

Oven-ready

A while later, Allie joined me and she helped take pictures of the cake-frosting portion, which was much easier than I expected.

First cake layer

First cake layer

Ganache

Ganache

Plop

Plop

Smooth

Smooth

Almonds

Almonds

almost spread… (that pearl bracelet was also a birthday present from my hubby :) )

almost spread… (that pearl bracelet was also a birthday present from my hubby 🙂 )

Spreading…

Spreading…

Almonds!

Almonds!

DSCF2739

…and done!

…and done!

DSCF2743

I’m very happy with how not-difficult it was to get those almonds on the side. Easier than you would think!

I'm very happy with how not-difficult  it was to get those almonds on the side. Easier than you would think!

Jam Cake with Caramel Chocolate Ganache

The swirly design on top intimidated me because I’ve tried that with buttercream frostings before and it’s never worked out how I envision it. But this ganache made it very easy! So fun.

The cakes smelled heavenly while they were baking, and the ganache tasted glorious. I can’t wait to try it out tonight! I was skeptical about jam + chocolate, not usually a fan of that, but I think I’ll be pleasantly surprised. 🙂

Later….

This is how it was once it was cut. It was quite delicious, the carmel ganache definitely made the cake. There was a hint of spice so subtle that only my husband detected it, and the flavors from the homemade jam came through perfectly.

Cut into

Cut into

Cut into

Cut into

It was Mexican food night at Community Group. This cake isn’t exactly Mexican, but it worked. 🙂

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #4 Jam Cake with Carmel Chocolate Ganache

  1. Oh my, that looks SO good! I wish I could come try it! Maybe you can make an exception in your cake schedule when I visit you and Elseth Junior (and Ian ;-)), and make two cakes that week so I can try this one! And by then, there might be more jam!

Comment on this post

