#2 The Harvey Wallbanger

Here is cake #2, The Harvey Wallbanger!

DSCF2509

This one was much less involved than the Buttersctoch Cream Roll-Up, but required a unique ingredient; a liquor called Galliano. It is Italian and has herb and vanilla flavors. Since I had never heard of it, I was afraid that I would have to order this one online, making it more difficult to bake the cake within the week, and also more expensive. Luckily you can find anything at our stateline liquor store (on the border between WA and OR, on the OR side) and my father-in-law was able to find it there for me. The cake is based on a cocktail drink with the same name, and it contains Orange Juice, Galliano, and vodka, so the cake does as well. I also had yet to purchase an angel food cake pan, which this recipe called for, and I was afraid to substitute a bundt pan, so I had to get that also.

My ingredients:

DSCF2490

The recipe says just to grease the pan, which I did using my little Ziploc baggy method. This made me nervous though, because I always grease, flour, and line with parchment, but I figured I would do as the recipe says. I am also not sure whether greasing with butter or Crisco is the way to go, I often use butter because butter tastes better, unless I’m baking dairy-free.

It begins, like many baking recipes, by sifting the dry ingredients…

DSCF2494 DSCF2495

…and creaming the butter, sugar, and vanilla.

DSCF2496

I skipped a few steps visually, but like many cake recipes there is a point where you add liquid and dry ingredients intermittently to the butter mixture. If you’re ever confused by the wording of a recipe that tells you do this, remember that you (just about) always go flour, wet, flour, wet, flour, trying to make each addition as even as you can. And it is always a good idea to scrape the sides of the pan down with a rubber spatula to make sure everything mixes fully.

DSCF2502

Last step! Dump it into the pan and rap the pan on the counters to release air pockets.

DSCF2506

While I waited for it to bake I decided to make a little orange garnish. I bought an orange specifically for this purpose and I have a handy little tool that is made just for getting the peel off of citrus fruits in long strings.

DSCF2510 DSCF2512

I decided this was how you make citrus peel curl: mixing spoons and kitchen string.

DSCF2514

On a side note, can you see the pretty blue and white dish above? My friends Kevin & Allie recently went to Poland and brought me back that gorgeous Polish dish. I love it and can’t wait to use it!

Then the cake was ready. It looked beautiful in the pan, but I was still not sure if it would come out of the pan right…

DSCF2516

Alas, my fears were realized.

DSCF2517 DSCF2518

But I was able to remedy it mostly, by putting the pieces back onto the cake like a puzzle.

DSCF2519

Which then got *mostly* covered up by the drizzle sauce (which was basically the cocktail drink plus powdered sugar).

DSCF2520

To prevent that from happening again, next time I might cut parchment to line the bottom of the pan with, but I’m not sure if I would flour it as well. Also, I learned from the label on my new pan that you’re not supposed to grease an angel food cake pan when making angel food cake. News to me! It does say that baking spray is fine, which to me is the same thing so I’m not sure what that is about.

Next I added my little citrus garnish to enhance the beauty

DSCF2524 DSCF2522

See how the orange peel curled so nicely?

DSCF2525

The grand finale: tasting the cake.

DSCF2528 DSCF2530

I had expected it to cut like an angel food cake (simply because that’s the pan I used) but it was more of a blend between angel food cake and pound cake. It was a very pleasant texture. The taste was very good, and the smell of the cake reminded me of my grandma’s old house in California, which made it very enjoyable for me. Maybe that has something to do with the Galliano liquor and my step-grandpa both being Italian, and the smell of oranges being prevalent in California.

It was a very pleasant and light cake. My piece was huge, mostly because I was trying to get rid of the ugly chunk, so I didn’t finish it all. Especially since it is much more filling than angel food cake. But it was delicious all the same. My husband also approved of his slice, which he ate with some vanilla ice cream on the side.

Next up: Banana Cake with Coffee Walnut Buttercream!

This entry was posted in Vintage Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #2 The Harvey Wallbanger

  1. I’m making this cake this weekend for an annual picnic with friends. I made the cake mix version last year. Was SO excited to see this recipe in my Vintage Cake book! Thanks for sharing…I’m now truly inspired! I’ll let you know how it turns out. 🙂

  2. Ah I have this cookbook!! The Harvey Wallbanger intrigued me, but I haven’t tried it yet. Looks tasty!!

  3. sweetaddict says:

    I make this cake, too. I’ve found it tastes best at least 4 hours after the glaze has been on the cake. I use a bundt pan, and it maes great mini bundts too.

Comment on this post

