In The Beginning

It all began with a wedding. Lovely things always begin with a wedding I think. My dear sister-in-law Michal was engaged to be married. As soon as she began planning she knew she would want a variety of homemade cakes for cake, along with a small professional one. Isn’t that a lovely idea? She had so many beautiful and romantic wedding ideas and I must say, they all turned out beautifully. This one in particular involved me and our mother (my mother-in-law) Kristina. We were extremely ambitious. We had both made a few very successful cakes in our housewife careers, so we decided to give it a whirl. Our first two attempts were utter failures and we began to be discouraged. After that it was practically a breeze to discover lovely and delicious recipes, but the problems arose in figuring out the logistics of 8 homemade cakes being made, frosted, refrigerated, delivered, and then served on wedding day. With much laughter, weeping, thinking, and praying, we worked it all out.

We ended up with a total of 7 delicious cake recipes (one we doubled), fit for a wedding. Red Velvet Cake, Peanut Butter Cake, Dark Chocolate Cake with Rich Chocolate Frosting, Banana Friendship Cake (from a dear friend), Fresh Strawberry Cake with Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting, Maple Walnut cake with Maple Frosting, and Apple Spice Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting.

We served them at the wedding and this is what they looked like. We made two Red Velvet cakes, and the ever so slightly more elaborate one centered was made by the venue’s baker, we can’t take credit for that particular lovely decorating. As you can see, it was quite a success, and everyone said that the cakes were delicious. 🙂Image

Now I come to the present. My husband Ian knows how very much I love baking cakes, and he bought me a cake book for Christmas called “Vintage Cakes” by Julie Richardson. It was so lovely! As soon as I started flipping through it I couldn’t stop, and I wanted to test EVERY recipe. I decided to count the recipes and happily discovered there were exactly 52. As it was the beginning of the year, it couldn’t have been more perfect. I was looking for the sort of resolution that was achievable and fun and it practically presented itself to me; one cake a week, all from the same cookbook.

I know this is extremely similar to that movie “Julie & Julia”, but that wasn’t my inspiration, and though the author’s name is Julie, mine is Hayley so it’s not quite as cute anyway. 😉

So now I am embarking on a (hopefully) happy adventure to bake 52 cakes in a year. I should also note that as of now I am 20 weeks pregnant with our first baby, due June 1st, so we’ll see if I can swing this resolution with a brand new baby in the picture. 🙂

This entry was posted in Recipes, Vintage Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In The Beginning

  1. You’re so sweet! I’m so glad you have a blog! After my last week of work I hope to get back in the habit of blogging more. 🙂

  2. Tara Troxel says:

    Yay! This is so awesome! BTW the first cake was amazing!!

Comment on this post

